Voter ID http://wfae.org en Charlotte Moral Monday Focuses On Voting http://wfae.org/post/charlotte-moral-monday-focuses-voting <p>The state's chapter of the NAACP has been leading weekly protests in Raleigh called Moral Monday.</p><p>It's a movement led by clergy members that's now on a state-wide tour and made its latest stop in Charlotte Monday night.</p><p> Tue, 20 Aug 2013 13:30:56 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 33635 at http://wfae.org Charlotte Moral Monday Focuses On Voting N.C. Files More Suits Over Coal-Ash Runoff http://wfae.org/post/nc-files-more-suits-over-coal-ash-runoff <p>The state of North Carolina has filed more lawsuits against Duke Energy seeking to force the utility to clean up water pollution from coal ash at 12 power plants. The state Department of Environment and Natural Resources filed two lawsuits Friday in Wake and Mecklenburg counties. Those suits expand the state's litigation to all 14 of North Carolina's coal-fired plants. &nbsp;Water tests at the 12 sites covered in the new suits showed chemical levels above what’s considered safe. State inspectors also have seen seeping liquid that’s not allowed under Duke’s permits. Sun, 18 Aug 2013 13:35:52 +0000 David Boraks 33557 at http://wfae.org Governor McCrory Signs Voter Photo ID Bill Into Law http://wfae.org/post/governor-mccrory-signs-voter-photo-id-bill-law <p>Governor Pat McCrory signed the sweeping Voter Photo ID bill into law Monday. Starting in 2016, most state residents will be required to bring a photo ID with them to the polls. It also makes <a href="http://www.wfae.org/post/nc-explainer-voting-rights" target="_blank">other changes to the voting process </a>– including getting rid of automatic straight-party voting.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 12 Aug 2013 22:16:58 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 33207 at http://wfae.org Governor McCrory Signs Voter Photo ID Bill Into Law NC House Passes Voter ID Bill http://wfae.org/post/nc-house-passes-voter-id-bill <p></p><p>Republican leaders in the North Carolina House unveiled details of their long-awaited Voter ID bill Thursday. The measure would require most North Carolinians to bring photo identification with them to the polls, beginning in 2016. It would allow residents to use a number of different kinds of IDs in order to vote. &nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 05 Apr 2013 15:15:52 +0000 Jessica Jones/NC Public Radio 24699 at http://wfae.org NC House Passes Voter ID Bill NAACP Marches Against Voter ID In N.C. http://wfae.org/post/naacp-marches-against-voter-id-nc <p>The NAACP held marches across North Carolina Sunday to voice opposition to a potential voter ID law. The organization also commemorated the 48th anniversary of civil rights marches in Alabama.</p><p> Mon, 25 Mar 2013 12:39:15 +0000 Michael Tomsic 23897 at http://wfae.org NAACP Marches Against Voter ID In N.C. GOP Lawmakers Should Consider Voter ID Compromise http://wfae.org/post/gop-lawmakers-should-consider-voter-id-compromise <p>With the GOP-led NC General Assembly beginning a “<a href="http://www.newsobserver.com/2013/03/05/2726758/nc-house-gop-begins-to-move-voter.html">deliberative</a>” consideration of requiring photo identification when voting, the heated rhetoric on both sides has only inflamed the passions of both supporters and opponents to Voter ID laws.</p><p>Anecdotal examples of people claiming to have voted multiple times are charged by one side, while the other side decrying the proposed legislation with charges of “we will fight them in the streets.”</p> Tue, 12 Mar 2013 19:50:31 +0000 Michael Bitzer 23106 at http://wfae.org GOP Lawmakers Should Consider Voter ID Compromise SC Voter ID Law Upheld http://wfae.org/post/sc-voter-id-law-upheld <p>A panel of federal judges in Washington has upheld South Carolina’s controversial voter I.D. law. But it won’t be in place for next month’s elections. The judges ruled the law requiring South Carolinians to show I.D. when they go to vote does not disenfranchise anyone. But they said the November elections are too close and that there’s not enough time for South Carolina election officials to implement the law. So it will take effect next year.</p> Wed, 10 Oct 2012 20:22:49 +0000 Marshall Terry 13539 at http://wfae.org