North Carolina http://wfae.org en Carolinas, Other States To Boeing: Oh Oh, Pick Me! http://wfae.org/post/carolinas-other-states-boeing-oh-oh-pick-me <p>“We've got just what you need.”</p><p>That's basically what Boeing is hearing this week from leaders in the Carolinas, Missouri, California and about a dozen other places. They're submitting bids to build Boeing's new 777X airplanes - and win the thousands of jobs and millions of dollars in investment that come with them.</p><p> Thu, 12 Dec 2013 14:45:48 +0000 Michael Tomsic 40978 at http://wfae.org Carolinas, Other States To Boeing: Oh Oh, Pick Me! State Sues Alcoa Over Ownership Of Yadkin River Bed http://wfae.org/post/state-sues-alcoa-over-ownership-yadkin-river-bed <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>The State of North Carolina is taking aluminum giant Alcoa to court over a series of hydroelectric dams on the Yadkin River. It's the latest turn in a decade-long dispute:</p><p> Fri, 02 Aug 2013 20:24:08 +0000 Julie Rose 32578 at http://wfae.org State Sues Alcoa Over Ownership Of Yadkin River Bed Court Decision A Setback For Voter Rights, Cooper Says http://wfae.org/post/court-decision-setback-voter-rights-cooper-says <p>The U.S. Supreme Court's decision to strike down part of the Voting Rights Act Tuesday could have a big impact on North Carolina.</p><p> Wed, 26 Jun 2013 01:31:25 +0000 Michael Tomsic 30097 at http://wfae.org Court Decision A Setback For Voter Rights, Cooper Says Dentist Shortage A State, National Issue http://wfae.org/post/dentist-shortage-state-national-issue <p>In North Carolina, about half of all kids enrolled in Medicaid did not receive dental care in 2011. That's nothing to brag about, but it's in line with the national average, according to a <a href="http://www.pewstates.org/uploadedFiles/PCS_Assets/2013/3222_PCS_In_search_of_Dentists_v6.pdf" target="_blank">Pew study released Tuesday</a>.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p> Wed, 26 Jun 2013 01:28:04 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 30096 at http://wfae.org Dentist Shortage A State, National Issue N.C. Advocates, Business Leaders React To Immigration Proposal http://wfae.org/post/nc-advocates-business-leaders-react-immigration-proposal <p></p><p>"A good first step." That's how some North Carolina immigration advocates and business leaders are describing the immigration overhaul filed in the U.S. Senate Wednesday.</p><p> Wed, 17 Apr 2013 21:03:24 +0000 Michael Tomsic 25493 at http://wfae.org N.C. Advocates, Business Leaders React To Immigration Proposal N.C. Medicaid Director: Overhaul 'Is Not A Budget Exercise' http://wfae.org/post/nc-medicaid-director-overhaul-not-budget-exercise <p>Governor Pat McCrory outlined a plan to significantly change North Carolina's Medicaid program last week. A key person responsible for filling in the details is Carol Steckel. She's the director of the state's Medicaid program, and she spoke to WFAE's Michael Tomsic about the reasons for the overhaul and how it's designed to work.</p><p> Mon, 08 Apr 2013 13:34:04 +0000 Michael Tomsic 24797 at http://wfae.org N.C. Medicaid Director: Overhaul 'Is Not A Budget Exercise' Gov. McCrory Announces Big Changes For N.C Medicaid http://wfae.org/post/gov-mccrory-announces-big-changes-nc-medicaid <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">North Carolina Governor Pat </span>McCrory<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> plans to make major changes to the state's Medicaid system. About <strike>1.8</strike>&nbsp;1.5 million North Carolinians who are low-income, young, elderly or disabled rely on Medicaid for health coverage.</span></p> Wed, 03 Apr 2013 19:17:11 +0000 Michael Tomsic 24552 at http://wfae.org N.C., S.C. Hospitals Deal With 'Nightmare Bacteria' http://wfae.org/post/nc-sc-hospitals-deal-nightmare-bacteria <p>Hospitals in the Carolinas are dealing with a growing threat from a type of superbug. It's only infected a small percentage of patients. But that percentage is on the rise, and the infections can be deadly.</p><p>The superbug is called CRE, and a recent report from the Centers for Disease Control describes it as <a href="http://www.cdc.gov/media/releases/2013/p0305_deadly_bacteria.html" target="_blank">"nightmare bacteria."&nbsp;</a></p><p>Dr. Katie Passaretti of Carolinas HealthCare System said it's evolved into something extremely difficult to treat.</p> Sun, 10 Mar 2013 22:59:59 +0000 Michael Tomsic 22984 at http://wfae.org N.C., S.C. Hospitals Deal With 'Nightmare Bacteria' I-485, Unusual Interchanges Should Be Finished By Dec. 2014 http://wfae.org/post/i-485-unusual-interchanges-should-be-finished-dec-2014 <p>Interstate-485 will finally become a complete loop next year, and some northern sections will feature unusual interchanges. State and federal transportation officials gave that update Tuesday while standing at the edge of one of the interchanges.</p><p>The rain didn't keep Davis Diggs and Gary Eudy from showing off how their babies are almost all grown up.</p><p>"We're standing at the border between Gary's project and my interchange," Diggs said. On one side, there's concrete road, and on the other, paved dirt.</p> Tue, 05 Mar 2013 22:10:21 +0000 Michael Tomsic 22658 at http://wfae.org I-485, Unusual Interchanges Should Be Finished By Dec. 2014 NC Democrats Need To Call Up Some Fresh Faces http://wfae.org/post/nc-democrats-need-call-some-fresh-faces <p>With the release of the provocative and no holds barred “NC 2013 Legislative Strategy” memo as <a href="http://www.charlotteobserver.com/2013/02/21/3869144/leaked-memo-outlines-liberal-attack.html">reported</a> by <em>The Charlotte Observer</em>, liberal advocacy groups are finally learning the lessons that conservative groups have been teaching them for some time: Be prepared to play the same game and have a playbook.</p> Wed, 27 Feb 2013 16:43:27 +0000 Michael Bitzer 22220 at http://wfae.org NC Democrats Need To Call Up Some Fresh Faces