North Carolina http://wfae.org en What New EPA Proposed Rule On Power Plant Emissions Means For NC http://wfae.org/post/what-new-epa-proposed-rule-power-plant-emissions-means-nc <p>North Carolina will have to reduce its rate of carbon emissions from power plants 40 percent to comply with a rule the Environmental Protection Agency proposed Monday. That's among the larger reductions the EPA is calling for in its push to reduce emissions.</p><p> Tue, 03 Jun 2014 13:24:53 +0000 Michael Tomsic 52182 at http://wfae.org What New EPA Proposed Rule On Power Plant Emissions Means For NC NC Looks For New Slogan. Wait, What's Our Current Slogan? http://wfae.org/post/nc-looks-new-slogan-wait-whats-our-current-slogan <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Hey North Carolina, it’s time to get branded. Don’t worry, no hot implements will be used. But branding was big news at a recent meeting of the state’s Economic Development Board.</span></p><p>They want to spend $1.5 million on a new slogan to attract tourists and businesses to our fair state.&nbsp; So WFAE's Tom Bullock decided to peel back the onion on this attempt at sloganeering.</p> Fri, 02 May 2014 09:00:00 +0000 Tom Bullock 50105 at http://wfae.org NC Looks For New Slogan. Wait, What's Our Current Slogan? Carolinas, Other States To Boeing: Oh Oh, Pick Me! http://wfae.org/post/carolinas-other-states-boeing-oh-oh-pick-me <p>“We've got just what you need.”</p><p>That's basically what Boeing is hearing this week from leaders in the Carolinas, Missouri, California and about a dozen other places. They're submitting bids to build Boeing's new 777X airplanes - and win the thousands of jobs and millions of dollars in investment that come with them.</p><p> Thu, 12 Dec 2013 14:45:48 +0000 Michael Tomsic 40978 at http://wfae.org Carolinas, Other States To Boeing: Oh Oh, Pick Me! State Sues Alcoa Over Ownership Of Yadkin River Bed http://wfae.org/post/state-sues-alcoa-over-ownership-yadkin-river-bed <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>The State of North Carolina is taking aluminum giant Alcoa to court over a series of hydroelectric dams on the Yadkin River. It's the latest turn in a decade-long dispute:</p><p> Fri, 02 Aug 2013 20:24:08 +0000 Julie Rose 32578 at http://wfae.org State Sues Alcoa Over Ownership Of Yadkin River Bed Court Decision A Setback For Voter Rights, Cooper Says http://wfae.org/post/court-decision-setback-voter-rights-cooper-says <p>The U.S. Supreme Court's decision to strike down part of the Voting Rights Act Tuesday could have a big impact on North Carolina.</p><p> Wed, 26 Jun 2013 01:31:25 +0000 Michael Tomsic 30097 at http://wfae.org Court Decision A Setback For Voter Rights, Cooper Says Dentist Shortage A State, National Issue http://wfae.org/post/dentist-shortage-state-national-issue <p>In North Carolina, about half of all kids enrolled in Medicaid did not receive dental care in 2011. That's nothing to brag about, but it's in line with the national average, according to a <a href="http://www.pewstates.org/uploadedFiles/PCS_Assets/2013/3222_PCS_In_search_of_Dentists_v6.pdf" target="_blank">Pew study released Tuesday</a>.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p> Wed, 26 Jun 2013 01:28:04 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 30096 at http://wfae.org Dentist Shortage A State, National Issue N.C. Advocates, Business Leaders React To Immigration Proposal http://wfae.org/post/nc-advocates-business-leaders-react-immigration-proposal <p></p><p>"A good first step." That's how some North Carolina immigration advocates and business leaders are describing the immigration overhaul filed in the U.S. Senate Wednesday.</p><p> Wed, 17 Apr 2013 21:03:24 +0000 Michael Tomsic 25493 at http://wfae.org N.C. Advocates, Business Leaders React To Immigration Proposal N.C. Medicaid Director: Overhaul 'Is Not A Budget Exercise' http://wfae.org/post/nc-medicaid-director-overhaul-not-budget-exercise <p>Governor Pat McCrory outlined a plan to significantly change North Carolina's Medicaid program last week. A key person responsible for filling in the details is Carol Steckel. She's the director of the state's Medicaid program, and she spoke to WFAE's Michael Tomsic about the reasons for the overhaul and how it's designed to work.</p><p> Mon, 08 Apr 2013 13:34:04 +0000 Michael Tomsic 24797 at http://wfae.org N.C. Medicaid Director: Overhaul 'Is Not A Budget Exercise' Gov. McCrory Announces Big Changes For N.C Medicaid http://wfae.org/post/gov-mccrory-announces-big-changes-nc-medicaid <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">North Carolina Governor Pat </span>McCrory<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> plans to make major changes to the state's Medicaid system. About <strike>1.8</strike>&nbsp;1.5 million North Carolinians who are low-income, young, elderly or disabled rely on Medicaid for health coverage.</span></p> Wed, 03 Apr 2013 19:17:11 +0000 Michael Tomsic 24552 at http://wfae.org N.C., S.C. Hospitals Deal With 'Nightmare Bacteria' http://wfae.org/post/nc-sc-hospitals-deal-nightmare-bacteria <p>Hospitals in the Carolinas are dealing with a growing threat from a type of superbug. It's only infected a small percentage of patients. But that percentage is on the rise, and the infections can be deadly.</p><p>The superbug is called CRE, and a recent report from the Centers for Disease Control describes it as <a href="http://www.cdc.gov/media/releases/2013/p0305_deadly_bacteria.html" target="_blank">"nightmare bacteria."&nbsp;</a></p><p>Dr. Katie Passaretti of Carolinas HealthCare System said it's evolved into something extremely difficult to treat.</p> Sun, 10 Mar 2013 22:59:59 +0000 Michael Tomsic 22984 at http://wfae.org N.C., S.C. Hospitals Deal With 'Nightmare Bacteria'