EPA http://wfae.org en What New EPA Proposed Rule On Power Plant Emissions Means For NC http://wfae.org/post/what-new-epa-proposed-rule-power-plant-emissions-means-nc <p>North Carolina will have to reduce its rate of carbon emissions from power plants 40 percent to comply with a rule the Environmental Protection Agency proposed Monday. That's among the larger reductions the EPA is calling for in its push to reduce emissions.</p><p> Tue, 03 Jun 2014 13:24:53 +0000 Michael Tomsic 52182 at http://wfae.org What New EPA Proposed Rule On Power Plant Emissions Means For NC Dan River Update: A Fraction Of Ash Removed http://wfae.org/post/dan-river-update-fraction-ash-removed <p>The Environmental Protection Agency announced it has struck an agreement with Duke Energy to clean up coal ash from the Dan River. The EPA has been overseeing the company’s response, since a storage pond failed at a Duke coal plant in February, spilling at least 30,000 tons of the waste into the river. But the agreement binds Duke to clean up ash as the EPA directs and to reimburse the agency for its costs. EPA officials say that comes to about $800,000 for the past three-plus months of clean-up.</p><p> Fri, 23 May 2014 01:57:50 +0000 Ben Bradford 51515 at http://wfae.org Dan River Update: A Fraction Of Ash Removed Little Ash Removed From Dan River http://wfae.org/post/little-ash-removed-dan-river <p>Two weeks since Duke Energy crews plugged a broken stormwater pipe, stopping a leak of coal ash into the Dan River, little progress has been made on removing that ash from the river.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 25 Feb 2014 14:59:19 +0000 Ben Bradford 45741 at http://wfae.org Little Ash Removed From Dan River New Duke Estimate Shows Less Ash Spilled Into Dan River http://wfae.org/post/new-duke-estimate-shows-less-ash-spilled-dan-river <p>A revised estimate shows less coal ash than previously thought leaked into the Dan River during a spill last week. Duke Energy now says less than 40,000 tons spilled into the river.</p> Wed, 12 Feb 2014 19:26:14 +0000 Ben Bradford 44925 at http://wfae.org New Duke Estimate Shows Less Ash Spilled Into Dan River Arsenic Levels In Dan River Were Over NC Standard http://wfae.org/post/arsenic-levels-dan-river-were-over-nc-standard <p>Officials continue to monitor water quality near the site of a coal ash spill from a retired Duke Energy plant on the Dan River in northern North Carolina. WFAE's Duncan McFadyen reports arsenic levels exceeded a state standard earlier this week.<br />&nbsp;</p><p> Sun, 09 Feb 2014 04:08:52 +0000 Duncan McFadyen 44672 at http://wfae.org Arsenic Levels In Dan River Were Over NC Standard Crews Plug Dan River Coal Ash Leak http://wfae.org/post/crews-plug-dan-river-coal-ash-leak <p>**UPDATE 2/8/2014 10:30 a.m.**</p><p>As of Saturday morning, Duke Energy workers have installed a permanent plug at the end of the wastewater pipe. A company representative says the "concrete-like substance" is curing. To keep pressure off of the plug as it cures, wastewater is still being pumped from the pipe and back into the coal ash pond. Crews are still trying to reach the broken part of the pipe under the ash pond. When they do, they plan to fill the full length of the pipe with the same concrete-like material.</p><p>---</p><p>Workers have temporarily stopped the flow of ash and water into the Dan River on the border of North Carolina and Virginia, and plan to permanently patch the leak overnight.</p><p></p><p> Fri, 07 Feb 2014 23:17:15 +0000 Ben Bradford & Duncan McFadyen 44617 at http://wfae.org Crews Plug Dan River Coal Ash Leak NC Sues EPA Over Air Quality Standards http://wfae.org/post/nc-sues-epa-over-air-quality-standards <p>The state of North Carolina is suing the EPA. State environmental regulators are arguing that federal air quality standards are too stringent and should be loosened.</p><p></p><p> Sat, 18 Jan 2014 17:19:21 +0000 Ben Bradford 43257 at http://wfae.org NC Sues EPA Over Air Quality Standards Court Orders EPA To Review Coal Ash Regulations http://wfae.org/post/court-orders-epa-review-coal-ash-regulations <p>A federal judge has ordered the EPA to decide whether the byproduct from burning coal is a hazardous material that must be regulated. That decision will have big implications for North Carolina.</p><p></p><p> Tue, 29 Oct 2013 19:56:29 +0000 Ben Bradford 38187 at http://wfae.org PCB Worries Put SC Sludge Fertilizer On Hold http://wfae.org/post/pcb-worries-put-sc-sludge-fertilizer-hold <p>There&#39;s a lot of sludge in South Carolina that&#39;s destined for landfills.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">That&#39;s because the sludge produced from some wastewater treatment plants has tested positive for PCBs.</span></p><p></p><p> Thu, 03 Oct 2013 04:35:30 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 36522 at http://wfae.org PCB Worries Put SC Sludge Fertilizer On Hold NC Returns EPA Grant For Fracking Study http://wfae.org/post/nc-returns-epa-grant-fracking-study <p>North Carolina’s environment agency has taken the unusual step of returning a federal grant to study streams and wetlands that could be harmed by hydraulic fracturing for natural gas.</p><p>The N.C. Department of Environment and Natural Resources had itself recommended last year that baseline water-quality data be collected where drilling might occur. The information would help document any problems linked to drilling.</p> Wed, 25 Sep 2013 15:55:59 +0000 Bruce Henderson 36023 at http://wfae.org