Solar Panels http://wfae.org en City Cancels Airport Solar Farm http://wfae.org/post/city-cancels-airport-solar-farm <p>The City of Charlotte has canceled its plan for an ambitious solar power project at Charlotte-Douglas airport, at least for now. Airport officials say new construction and old bonds make the project unfeasible.</p><p></p><p> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 20:10:29 +0000 Ben Bradford 46704 at http://wfae.org City Cancels Airport Solar Farm Duke Energy Looks To Almost Double NC Solar http://wfae.org/post/duke-energy-looks-almost-double-nc-solar <p>Duke Energy plans to almost double the amount of solar energy its North Carolina utilities use by the end of next year. The utility has about 350 megawatts of solar in the state right now, the size of a small natural gas or coal plant.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p> Fri, 14 Feb 2014 19:08:10 +0000 Ben Bradford 45093 at http://wfae.org Duke Energy Looks To Almost Double NC Solar UNC Charlotte Team Ready For Solar Decathlon Judging http://wfae.org/post/unc-charlotte-team-ready-solar-decathlon-judging <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The </span>UNC<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;Charlotte Solar Decathlon Team is <a href="http://www.solardecathlon.gov/teams.html" target="_blank">one of 19 teams</a> chosen from all over the world to compete in a U.S. Department of Energy Solar Decathlon competition. &nbsp;</span></p> Fri, 04 Oct 2013 03:30:00 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 36585 at http://wfae.org UNC Charlotte Team Ready For Solar Decathlon Judging UNC Charlotte Students Make Progress On Solar House http://wfae.org/post/unc-charlotte-students-make-progress-solar-house <p>UNC Charlotte's Solar Decathlon Team says it's about half-way through completing the construction of its solar house. They were recently nominated from teams all over the world to compete in a U.S. Department of Energy Solar Decathlon competition. &nbsp;</p> Thu, 27 Jun 2013 18:42:05 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 30182 at http://wfae.org UNC Charlotte Students Make Progress On Solar House IKEA-Charlotte Now Operates (Partly) On Sunshine http://wfae.org/post/ikea-charlotte-now-operates-partly-sunshine <p>Furniture giant IKEA has just installed 4,228 solar panels on the roof of its store in Charlotte. The panels are expected to generate up to half of the store's electricity.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 06 Jun 2013 13:21:32 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 28761 at http://wfae.org IKEA-Charlotte Now Operates (Partly) On Sunshine