Kelly McEvers http://wfae.org en On Calif. Cattle Ranch, Students Wrangle With Meaning Of Manhood http://wfae.org/post/calif-cattle-ranch-students-wrangle-meaning-manhood <em>For </em>All Things Considered<em>'s </em>"<a href="http://www.npr.org/series/323986426/men-in-america">Men in America</a>"<em> series, NPR's Kelly McEvers sent this report on Deep Springs College — the all-male college that her husband attended, and where he and McEvers have both taught. </em><p>About a hundred years ago, a man named L.L. Nunn was building power plants in the American West. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 21:52:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 54576 at http://wfae.org Pentagon Decides To Dig Up Remains Of Long-Lost Soldier http://wfae.org/post/pentagon-decides-dig-remains-long-lost-soldier After years of refusing to act, the U.S. military has decided to disinter the possible grave of Pvt. Arthur "Bud" Kelder, a POW from World War II who is buried anonymously in an American war cemetery in the Philippines.<p>Military officials also plan to disinter the remains of 10 other men in the same unmarked grave, says Navy Cmdr. Amy Derrick-Frost, a Defense Department spokeswoman. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 19:52:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 54050 at http://wfae.org Farm Workers' Low Wages Hinder San Joaquin Valley's Economy http://wfae.org/post/farm-workers-low-wages-hinder-san-joaquin-valleys-economy Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>OK, that's the national picture. Let's zoom in on a region that stands out for its high unemployment, Central California's San Joaquin Valley. NPR's Kelly McEvers went to find out why it's so hard to get a job amid some of the most productive farmland on earth.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF PHONE RINGING)<p>UNIDENTIFIED MAN 1: Employment Development Department, work force services.<p>KELLY MCEVERS, BYLINE: It's first thing in the morning. Fri, 06 Jun 2014 09:08:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 52404 at http://wfae.org 17 Primary Candidates Vie For Rep. Henry Waxman's Seat http://wfae.org/post/17-primary-candidates-vie-rep-henry-waxmans-seat When the Democrat from Southern California announced his retirement earlier this year, he opened up a seat that had been occupied for decades. The top-two vote getters will face off in November. Mon, 02 Jun 2014 09:11:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 52110 at http://wfae.org Albuquerque Police Face Federal Scrutiny, Local Outrage http://wfae.org/post/albuquerque-police-face-federal-scrutiny-local-outrage Kenneth Ellis III was shot and killed by police in a 7-Eleven parking lot in Albuquerque, N.M.<p>He is among the dozens of people local police have shot over the last four years, 25 of whom have died. The U.S. Thu, 22 May 2014 07:31:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 51433 at http://wfae.org Albuquerque Police Face Federal Scrutiny, Local Outrage Why Is A French Economist's 700-Page Book So Popular? http://wfae.org/post/why-french-economists-700-page-book-so-popular French economist Thomas Piketty's book, Capital in the Twenty-First Century, has become a sensation. He's been all over the media, and he's lecturing to packed houses on his current U.S. tour. Wed, 30 Apr 2014 10:12:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 49998 at http://wfae.org Immigrants Feel Like Targets As Deportations Increase http://wfae.org/post/immigrants-feel-targets-deportations-increase Transcript <p>KELLY MCEVERS, HOST: <p>NPR and MORNING EDITION recently spent a lot of time reporting on the U.S.-Mexico border. In the town of Mexicali, or Mexicali, on the border with California, I found a city of deportees - tens of thousands of people who'd been sent out of the U.S. and back to Mexico. The U.S. recently passed the two million - that's two million deportations since President Obama took office. It used to be that shelters along the border were full of people trying to go north. Now, they're full of people being sent south. This place is called the Hotel Emigrante. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 10:28:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 49227 at http://wfae.org Hoping To Slim POW-MIA Bureaucracy, Hagel Makes One Out Of Two http://wfae.org/post/hoping-slim-pow-mia-bureaucracy-hagel-makes-one-out-two Secretary of Defense Chuck Hagel announced the creation of a new defense agency charged with merging the multiple divisions currently responsible for finding and identifying the more than 80,000 members missing from past conflicts. A five-month investigation by NPR and the independent news agency ProPublica had found the U.S. recovery effort to be slow, inefficient and stymied by outdated methods. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 20:37:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 48063 at http://wfae.org Deportees To Mexicali Wait For Another Chance To Cross Into U.S. http://wfae.org/post/deportees-mexicali-wait-another-chance-cross-us Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>This is MORNING EDITION, from NPR News. With Linda Wertheimer, I'm David Greene.<p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>And I'm Steve Inskeep.<p>It was the middle of a sunny day when our road trip along the U.S.-Mexico border led us to one of the driest regions we'd seen.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF A VEHICLE)<p>INSKEEP: For a moment there, the landscape made our producer, Selena Simmons-Duffin, think of "Lawrence of Arabia." We had sand dunes over sand dunes over sand dunes. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 09:05:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 47781 at http://wfae.org U.S. Grave Science Marked By Risk Aversion And Bureaucracy http://wfae.org/post/us-grave-science-marked-risk-aversion-and-bureacracy In part two of <a href="http://apps.npr.org/grave-science/">a joint investigation by NPR and ProPublica</a>, we look at the agency charged with bringing home and identifying the 83,000 American war dead. It's stymied by an extreme aversion to risk. See the <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 21:09:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 46485 at http://wfae.org U.S. Grave Science Marked By Risk Aversion And Bureaucracy