Alix Spiegel http://wfae.org en Mind Over Milkshake: How Your Thoughts Fool Your Stomach http://wfae.org/post/mind-over-milkshake-how-your-thoughts-fool-your-stomach <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pIfhxt0JCok</p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 07:22:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 48934 at http://wfae.org Mind Over Milkshake: How Your Thoughts Fool Your Stomach Play It Again And Again, Sam http://wfae.org/post/play-it-again-and-again-sam <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EH45A6ek45s</p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 22:58:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 48531 at http://wfae.org Play It Again And Again, Sam So You Think You're Smarter Than A CIA Agent http://wfae.org/post/so-you-think-youre-smarter-cia-agent The morning I met Elaine Rich, she was sitting at the kitchen table of her small town home in suburban Maryland trying to estimate refugee flows in Syria.<p>It wasn't the only question she was considering; there were others:<p>Will North Korea launch a new multistage missile before May 10, 2014?<p>Will Russian armed forces enter Kharkiv, Ukraine, by May 10? Rich's answers to these questions would eventually be evaluated by the intelligence community, but she didn't feel much pressure because this wasn't her full-time gig.<p>"I'm just a pharmacist," she said. Wed, 02 Apr 2014 07:55:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 48171 at http://wfae.org So You Think You're Smarter Than A CIA Agent Good Art Is Popular Because It's Good. Right? http://wfae.org/post/good-art-popular-because-its-good-right In July of last year, a man named Sidney Sealine went to see the Mona Lisa in Paris.<p>The idea was to spend some time with the picture, see for himself the special spark that made the painting so famous.<p>But Sealine couldn't even get close.<p>In <a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RvK8t6DMYlM" target="_blank">his video of the visit</a>, you see people of every race and nationality crowded around the barricades that separate them from the painting. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 08:28:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 45899 at http://wfae.org Good Art Is Popular Because It's Good. Right? When Memories Never Fade, The Past Can Poison The Present http://wfae.org/post/when-memories-never-fade-past-can-poison-present On Feb. 21, Alexandra Wolff ate steak, mashed potatoes and broccoli for dinner. Later that night, sitting in her room, she spent 20 minutes scanning pictures in <em>InStyle</em> magazine.<p>She remembers those things, just as she remembers that on Aug. 2 she stopped at Target and bought Raisin Bran; and on April 17 she wore a white button-down shirt; and on Oct. Fri, 27 Dec 2013 21:21:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 41934 at http://wfae.org When Memories Never Fade, The Past Can Poison The Present If Your Shrink Is A Bot, How Do You Respond? http://wfae.org/post/if-your-shrink-bot-how-do-you-respond <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ejczMs6b1Q4</p> Mon, 20 May 2013 07:04:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 27626 at http://wfae.org If Your Shrink Is A Bot, How Do You Respond? Big Sibling's Big Influence: Some Behaviors Run In The Family http://wfae.org/post/big-siblings-big-influence-some-behaviors-run-family Patricia East is a developmental psychologist who began her career working at an OB-GYN clinic in California. Mon, 29 Apr 2013 20:26:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 26252 at http://wfae.org Big Sibling's Big Influence: Some Behaviors Run In The Family Boston Blasts Remind Us Of Fragility Of Life http://wfae.org/post/boston-blasts-remind-us-fragility-life From the first explosion in Boston on Monday to the second, just 15 seconds elapsed. And in those 15 seconds, three people were mortally wounded, including an 8-year-old boy. Wed, 17 Apr 2013 14:09:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 25466 at http://wfae.org Boston Blasts Remind Us Of Fragility Of Life Would Angry Teens Chill Out If They Saw More Happy Faces? http://wfae.org/post/would-angry-teens-chill-out-if-they-saw-more-happy-faces All day long we're surrounded by faces. We see them on the subway sitting two by two, pass them on the sidewalk as we make our way to work, then nod to them in the elevator.<p>But most of those faces don't tell us much about the emotional life of the person behind the face.<p>"People don't just go around the world smiling or grimacing or frowning," says psychologist <a href="http://www.bristol.ac.uk/expsych/people/marcus-r-munafo/index.html">Marcus Munafo</a> of the University of Bristol. Mon, 08 Apr 2013 21:25:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 24868 at http://wfae.org Would Angry Teens Chill Out If They Saw More Happy Faces? Mining Books To Map Emotions Through A Century http://wfae.org/post/mining-books-map-emotions-through-century Were people happier in the 1950s than they are today? Or were they more frustrated, repressed and sad?<p>To find out, you'd have to compare the emotions of one generation to another. Mon, 01 Apr 2013 19:41:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 24398 at http://wfae.org Mining Books To Map Emotions Through A Century