NCDOT http://wfae.org en For NCDOT Official, A Thorough Grilling Over I-77 Tolls http://wfae.org/post/ncdot-official-thorough-grilling-over-i-77-tolls <p>Rodger Rochelle is the NC Department of Transportation’s director of technical services, working deep in the trenches on contracts, technical specifications and research and development. After Monday night’s Town Board meeting at Cornelius Town Hall, he can add “punching bag” to his job description.</p><p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 14:20:01 +0000 David Boraks 54452 at http://wfae.org For NCDOT Official, A Thorough Grilling Over I-77 Tolls Study Shows I-77 Toll Lane Trip Could Top Out At $11 http://wfae.org/post/study-shows-i-77-toll-lane-trip-could-top-out-11 <p>A 2012 study indicates a trip&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">between uptown Charlotte and Mooresville on an express toll lane could cost between $9 to $11 during rush hour. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 20:07:55 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 53492 at http://wfae.org Study Shows I-77 Toll Lane Trip Could Top Out At $11 N.C. Dept. Of Transportation Drops Plan For I-277 Noise Walls http://wfae.org/post/nc-dept-transportation-drops-plan-i-277-noise-walls <p>The North Carolina Department of Transportation has dropped plans to build noise walls along the Brookshire Freeway side of I-277 in uptown Charlotte.</p><p> Thu, 01 May 2014 21:17:49 +0000 Duncan McFadyen 50126 at http://wfae.org N.C. Dept. Of Transportation Drops Plan For I-277 Noise Walls A Trifling Place, Episode 16: Where The Sidewalks At? http://wfae.org/post/trifling-place-episode-16-where-sidewalks <p>Welcome to <a href="http://www.wfae.org/topic/trifling-place" target="_blank"><em>A Trifling Place</em></a>, a podcast dedicated to exploring the ins-and-outs of Charlotte.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 13 Mar 2014 20:03:51 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 46871 at http://wfae.org A Trifling Place, Episode 16: Where The Sidewalks At? Close Vote On I-277 Noise Wall Gets Independent Review http://wfae.org/post/close-vote-i-277-noise-wall-gets-independent-review <p>A close vote that narrowly gave the state Department of Transportation approval to put up a noise wall along I-277 is now under review.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 12 Mar 2014 21:11:47 +0000 Duncan McFadyen 46795 at http://wfae.org Close Vote On I-277 Noise Wall Gets Independent Review DMV May Eliminate Written Exam For Licensed Drivers http://wfae.org/post/dmv-may-eliminate-written-exam-licensed-drivers <p>The DMV is looking to make a few big changes this year to reduce wait times. For one, there's a proposal to eliminate the written test requirement for out-of-state residents to get a North Carolina driver's license.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p> Thu, 27 Feb 2014 22:04:30 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 45948 at http://wfae.org DMV May Eliminate Written Exam For Licensed Drivers I-277 Noise Walls: One Voted Down, Other Moving Forward http://wfae.org/post/i-277-noise-walls-one-voted-down-other-moving-forward <p>The votes are in on the controversial noise walls proposed for part of I-277. The North Carolina Department of Transportation says it’s moving forward with one section; the other section has been voted down. The next move comes tonight from Charlotte City Council, who along with other groups has said it’s concerned the wall would block views of uptown.</p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 24 Feb 2014 22:24:34 +0000 Marshall Terry & Duncan McFadyen 45739 at http://wfae.org I-277 Noise Walls: One Voted Down, Other Moving Forward D.O.T. Fined For Illegal Seizure Of Land In Concord http://wfae.org/post/dot-fined-illegal-seizure-land-concord <p>A federal judge has ruled the North Carolina Department of Transportation illegally seized and destroyed private property in Concord. The judge ordered the agency to pay more than $20,000 in fines.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 04 Feb 2014 21:13:29 +0000 Tom Bullock 44356 at http://wfae.org D.O.T. Fined For Illegal Seizure Of Land In Concord McCrory Calls For Better Design, Planning Of Roads http://wfae.org/post/mccrory-calls-better-design-planning-roads <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Governor Pat </span>McCrory<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> called for the state's department of transportation to implement better design and planning of roads and highways during the Highway Safety Symposium Monday in Concord. He says the Concord Mills Mall exit on I-85 is an example of a poorly designed interchange. It's also the busiest corridor in all of </span>Cabarrus<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> County.</span></p> Mon, 13 Jan 2014 21:41:44 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 42910 at http://wfae.org McCrory Calls For Better Design, Planning Of Roads Sidewalk Project Design Begins Year After Garinger H.S. Student's Death http://wfae.org/post/sidewalk-project-design-begins-year-after-garinger-hs-students-death <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Charlotte Transportation officials received public input Tuesday night on a dangerous intersection it’s in the process of redesigning. The intersection near </span>Garinger<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> High School has been the site of 42 crashes in three years, and the death of a teenager crossing the street.</span></p><p></p><p> Wed, 25 Sep 2013 13:30:11 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 35988 at http://wfae.org Sidewalk Project Design Begins Year After Garinger H.S. Student's Death