I-77 http://wfae.org en DOT Signs 1-77 Widening Contract With Cintra http://wfae.org/post/dot-signs-1-77-widening-contract-cintra <p>The <strong>NC Department of Transportation</strong> said Thursday it has signed a preliminary contract with Spanish construction giant <strong>Cintra Infraestructures</strong> to widen 26 miles of I-77 north of Charlotte using high-occupancy toll lanes, or HOT lanes. North Carolina will contribute $88 million in public money to the $655 million project under the 50-year deal.</p><p style="text-align: center;"><strong>See the full announcement below.</strong></p> Thu, 26 Jun 2014 21:56:45 +0000 Jennifer Lang 53769 at http://wfae.org DOT Signs 1-77 Widening Contract With Cintra Leaders Want More Information About I-77 Toll Project http://wfae.org/post/leaders-want-more-information-about-i-77-toll-project <p>The North Carolina Department of Transportation plans to sign a contract with a private company to build and operate toll lanes on I-77 between Lake Norman and Uptown Charlotte. But some lawmakers want more answers from the DOT before the state finalizes its agreement.</p><p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 20:59:27 +0000 Duncan McFadyen 53668 at http://wfae.org Leaders Want More Information About I-77 Toll Project Study Shows I-77 Toll Lane Trip Could Top Out At $11 http://wfae.org/post/study-shows-i-77-toll-lane-trip-could-top-out-11 <p>A 2012 study indicates a trip&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">between uptown Charlotte and Mooresville on an express toll lane could cost between $9 to $11 during rush hour. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 20:07:55 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 53492 at http://wfae.org Study Shows I-77 Toll Lane Trip Could Top Out At $11 State Names Top Bidder For I-77 Widening http://wfae.org/post/state-names-top-bidder-i-77-widening <p>A long awaited project to widen I-77 north of Charlotte could start as early as December, state officials said Friday. The North Carolina Department of Transportation said Friday that a partnership led by a Spanish company that specializes in toll lanes is the apparent winning bidder on the project.</p> Sun, 13 Apr 2014 13:56:20 +0000 David Boraks 48912 at http://wfae.org Developers Want Exit 28 Site For Multi-Sport Complex http://wfae.org/post/developers-want-exit-28-site-multi-sport-complex <p>Developers are trying to assemble several parcels of land off I-77 Service Road in the Exit 28 area for a proposed <strong>Cornelius Sports Complex</strong>, which could include athletic courts, office buildings and a medical office building.</p> Mon, 03 Feb 2014 14:33:59 +0000 David Boraks 44262 at http://wfae.org Developers Want Exit 28 Site For Multi-Sport Complex Commissioners Interview County Manager Finalists http://wfae.org/post/commissioners-interview-county-manager-finalists <p>Mecklenburg County commissioners are closing in on a choice for county manager. The board interviewed finalists for the job <a href="http://charmeck.org/mecklenburg/county/BOCC/Meetings/Documents/specialmtgNOTICE%20Personnel%20Matter%20Dec%20%2013%20and%2014%202013.pdf" target="_blank">in closed door meetings on Friday and Saturday</a> at the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Government Center. Sun, 15 Dec 2013 14:39:48 +0000 David Boraks 41162 at http://wfae.org Cornelius Board Votes 3-2 To Back I-77 Toll Lane Project http://wfae.org/post/cornelius-board-votes-3-2-back-i-77-toll-lane-project <p>Months of debate among Cornelius commissioners over the NC Department of Transportation’s plan to widen I-77 north of Charlotte by adding toll lanes ended dramatically and quickly Monday night in a 3-2 vote in favor of the concept. With the board still one member short because of a vacancy, it was up to Mayor Lynette Rinker to break a 2-2 tie on the issue.</p> Wed, 08 May 2013 15:10:32 +0000 David Boraks/CorneliusNews.net 26860 at http://wfae.org Cornelius Board Votes 3-2 To Back I-77 Toll Lane Project MUMPO Meetings This Week Seek Comment On I-77 HOT Lanes http://wfae.org/post/mumpo-meetings-week-seek-comment-i-77-hot-lanes <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>A formal public comment period is open through April 22 on the N.C. Department of Transportation’s plan to widen I-77 north of Charlotte by adding high-occupancy toll lanes, or HOT lanes. The Mecklenburg Union Metropolitan Planning Organization (MUMPO) plans public meetings Wednesday in Huntersville and Thursday in Charlotte as part of its effort to gather input on the plan.</p> Tue, 09 Apr 2013 16:14:47 +0000 David Boraks/Corneliusnews.net 24911 at http://wfae.org MUMPO Meetings This Week Seek Comment On I-77 HOT Lanes As Officials Explain I-77 Toll Plan, Critics Keep Asking Why http://wfae.org/post/officials-explain-i-77-toll-plan-critics-keep-asking-why <p>More than 100 residents packed a meeting room in Mooresville Wednesday night, many holding signs protesting the North Carolina Department of Transportation’s plan for High Occupancy Toll Lanes, or HOT Lanes, on I-77 from Charlotte north to Mooresville.</p> Thu, 14 Mar 2013 14:56:10 +0000 David Boraks 23231 at http://wfae.org As Officials Explain I-77 Toll Plan, Critics Keep Asking Why Expert: HOT Lanes Are About A Reliable Ride, Not Easing Traffic http://wfae.org/post/expert-hot-lanes-are-about-reliable-ride-not-easing-traffic <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>Lake Norman area commuters are hoping that toll lanes will be the answer to traffic jams on I-77 north of Charlotte, helping to pay for widening the road earlier than planned. But an expert in so-called “managed lanes” told local officials Wednesday night toll lanes aren’t about that – they’re about guaranteeing a faster ride for those who choose to use the toll lanes.</p><p>“This is a game changing proposition for our highway capacity,” said David Ungemah, a toll-lanes expert with consulting firm Parsons Brinckerhoff.</p> Thu, 14 Feb 2013 16:05:33 +0000 David Boraks 21422 at http://wfae.org Expert: HOT Lanes Are About A Reliable Ride, Not Easing Traffic