UNC Charlotte http://wfae.org en Building Boom Continues At UNC Charlotte http://wfae.org/post/building-boom-continues-unc-charlotte <p>UNC Charlotte has been on something of a building spree for several years now.&nbsp; That trend will continue with the approval of some renovations and another new dorm.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 20:33:34 +0000 Lisa Miller 54473 at http://wfae.org Building Boom Continues At UNC Charlotte Robot Will Encourage Recycling At 49ers Football Stadium http://wfae.org/post/robot-will-encourage-recycling-49ers-football-stadium <p>Since it first opened, UNC Charlotte's football stadium has had a zero-waste initiative. That means almost no trash. Everything that can be … is recycled or composted.</p><p>Part of that initiative is a three and a half feet-tall robot called RecycleBot. Ten engineering students worked on the robot this spring. &nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 30 May 2014 00:32:07 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 51944 at http://wfae.org Robot Will Encourage Recycling At 49ers Football Stadium UNC Charlotte Will Update Engineering Courses With DOE Funding http://wfae.org/post/unc-charlotte-will-update-engineering-courses-doe-funding <p>UNC<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Charlotte is getting money from the U.S. Department of Energy to update its engineering program in an effort to help modernize the power grid.</span></p><p>The five-year project is in collaboration with three other universities.</p><p> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 20:56:20 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 47451 at http://wfae.org UNC Charlotte Will Update Engineering Courses With DOE Funding Archiving Charlotte LGBT Community's History http://wfae.org/post/archiving-charlotte-lgbt-communitys-history <p>The Levine Museum for the New South will focus on Charlotte’s LGBT history in an exhibit that opens this summer. Some of that history is being archived at UNC Charlotte.</p><p> Wed, 26 Feb 2014 14:08:21 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 45555 at http://wfae.org Archiving Charlotte LGBT Community's History Seniors At AARP Summit: We Want To 'Age In Place' http://wfae.org/post/seniors-aarp-summit-we-want-age-place <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">There's a long list of things that senior citizens in Charlotte want: &nbsp;affordable housing, better building standards, more transportation options, sidewalks and </span>greenways<span style="line-height: 1.5;">.</span></p><p>AARP sponsored a conference today at Queens University that included top city leaders, city planners and residents to discuss ideas for improving Charlotte's quality of life.</p> Fri, 22 Nov 2013 15:20:03 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 39704 at http://wfae.org Seniors At AARP Summit: We Want To 'Age In Place' 'Sacrificial Poets' Teach Students How To Spit Poetry http://wfae.org/post/sacrificial-poets-teach-students-how-spit-poetry <p>Spoken word poetry is about dramatic storytelling. A Raleigh performance poetry group called Sacrificial Poets is performing at UNC Charlotte this weekend. They're in town for a three-day residency that involves teaching college students and visiting some local schools to teach them about the art of busting a rhyme.</p><p></p> Sat, 16 Nov 2013 03:12:44 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 39348 at http://wfae.org 'Sacrificial Poets' Teach Students How To Spit Poetry Charlotte 49ers Marching Band Will Join Team In 2015 http://wfae.org/post/charlotte-49ers-marching-band-will-join-team-2015 <p>UNC Charlotte's football team is gaining momentum but fans can't help but think something is missing.&nbsp; The school recently announced <a href="http://coaa.uncc.edu/news/unc-charlotte-field-marching-band" target="_blank">plans to build a marching band </a>by 2015. &nbsp;</p><div> Thu, 31 Oct 2013 02:33:55 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 38270 at http://wfae.org Charlotte 49ers Marching Band Will Join Team In 2015 High-End Student Housing Headed To University Area http://wfae.org/post/high-end-student-housing-headed-university-area <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Some new housing is popping up in the university area of Charlotte.&nbsp; It’s geared to students.&nbsp; So you might think cheap rent, cramped kitchens, shared bathrooms, and dreary stairwells.&nbsp; And you’d be so wrong.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Tue, 29 Oct 2013 21:20:28 +0000 Lisa Miller 38191 at http://wfae.org High-End Student Housing Headed To University Area UNC Charlotte Places 13th At Solar Decathlon http://wfae.org/post/unc-charlotte-places-13th-solar-decathlon <p>UNC Charlotte&#39;s solar house, <a href="http://urbaneden.uncc.edu/" target="_blank">UrbanEden</a>, placed <a href="http://www.solardecathlon.gov/scores.html" target="_blank">13 out of 19th</a>&nbsp;in the 2013 Solar Decathlon in Irvine, Calif., that ended this past weekend, but the team went home with the People&#39;s Choice Award.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Team Austria won first place in the competition, the University of Nevada Las Vegas won second and the Czech Republic won third.&nbsp;</span></p> Mon, 14 Oct 2013 20:30:55 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 37243 at http://wfae.org UNC Charlotte Places 13th At Solar Decathlon UNC Charlotte Team Ready For Solar Decathlon Judging http://wfae.org/post/unc-charlotte-team-ready-solar-decathlon-judging <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The </span>UNC<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;Charlotte Solar Decathlon Team is <a href="http://www.solardecathlon.gov/teams.html" target="_blank">one of 19 teams</a> chosen from all over the world to compete in a U.S. Department of Energy Solar Decathlon competition. &nbsp;</span></p> Fri, 04 Oct 2013 03:30:00 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 36585 at http://wfae.org UNC Charlotte Team Ready For Solar Decathlon Judging