Electricity Rates http://wfae.org en Duke Earnings Up In 4th Quarter http://wfae.org/post/duke-earnings-4th-quarter <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Duke Energy reported a 58 percent jump in profits in its fourth quarter earnings, partially due to lower costs and higher rates.</span></p><p></p><p> Tue, 18 Feb 2014 18:25:30 +0000 Ben Bradford 45301 at http://wfae.org Duke Earnings Up In 4th Quarter Duke Energy's Store Sells Sort-Of-Free Lightbulbs http://wfae.org/post/duke-energys-store-sells-sort-free-lightbulbs <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Duke Energy is offering free </span>lightbulbs<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> when you order them online. Well, almost free. You can order </span>lightbulbs<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> for up to 92 percent off the retail price. The&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">company's efforts to promote energy efficiency helps their bottom line.</span></p><p> Wed, 20 Nov 2013 22:17:15 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 39634 at http://wfae.org Duke Energy's Store Sells Sort-Of-Free Lightbulbs Duke 'On Track,' Posts $1Billion 3Q Profit http://wfae.org/post/duke-track-posts-1billion-3q-profit <p>Duke Energy made <a href="http://www.duke-energy.com/pdfs/2013110601f.pdf" target="_blank">a billion-dollar profit</a> in the third quarter – twice what it reported for the same quarter a year ago, when the company was newly-merged and swallowing significant costs related to that. Duke executives say the quarter would have been even stronger, had it not been for mild summer weather in the region that meant fewer air conditioners sucking up electricity. &nbsp;</p> Wed, 06 Nov 2013 18:17:37 +0000 Julie Rose 38722 at http://wfae.org Duke 'On Track,' Posts $1Billion 3Q Profit 5% Rate Increase Approved For Duke Energy NC http://wfae.org/post/5-rate-increase-approved-duke-energy-nc <p>Electric bills for the average residential Duke Energy customer in North Carolina are going up by about $7.50 a month, under a rate increase approved by state regulators.&nbsp; The company originally asked for a nearly 12 percent rate hike for residential customers, but settled for a boost of just over five percent that will be phased in over the next three years.</p><p>Duke Energy's justification for this rate increase is the same as it has been for the last two.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 25 Sep 2013 17:29:07 +0000 Julie Rose 36030 at http://wfae.org 5% Rate Increase Approved For Duke Energy NC Duke CEO: No More Rate Increases For Several Years http://wfae.org/post/duke-ceo-no-more-rate-increases-several-years <p>In the coming month, Duke Energy hopes to get regulatory approval to raise rates in North Carolina by about five percent and in South Carolina just over eight percent. WFAE's Julie Rose sat down with Duke CEO Lynn Good yesterday to talk about what comes next.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 14 Aug 2013 13:31:24 +0000 Julie Rose 33273 at http://wfae.org Duke CEO: No More Rate Increases For Several Years Duke Earnings Drag In Second Quarter http://wfae.org/post/duke-earnings-drag-second-quarter <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A lackluster earnings report from Duke Energy out today is evidence the company's year-old merger with Progress continues to be a mixed bag for the bottom line.</span></p><p> Wed, 07 Aug 2013 17:39:53 +0000 Julie Rose 32863 at http://wfae.org Duke Earnings Drag In Second Quarter Regulators Begin Hearings On Duke Rate Increase http://wfae.org/post/regulators-begin-hearings-duke-rate-increase <p>Regulatory hearings begin Monday afternoon at the North Carolina Utilities Commission in Raleigh for Duke Energy's latest request for a rate increase.</p><p></p><p> Mon, 08 Jul 2013 09:49:03 +0000 Julie Rose 30749 at http://wfae.org Regulators Begin Hearings On Duke Rate Increase Is Duke Rate Hike Settlement A Deal Or A Dupe? http://wfae.org/post/duke-rate-hike-settlement-deal-or-dupe <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Duke Energy has struck a deal with the state's top utility customer advocate that, on the surface, seems like a pretty good deal for ratepayers. But some advocacy groups wonder if we're being played.</span></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A pattern is emerging: Two years in a row, Duke Energy has come in asking for a big rate hike - 9.7 percent in this latest case - only to turn around a few months later and settle for an increase </span><em style="line-height: 1.5;">half </em><span style="line-height: 1.5;">as big.&nbsp;</span></p> Thu, 13 Jun 2013 21:02:16 +0000 Julie Rose 29335 at http://wfae.org Is Duke Rate Hike Settlement A Deal Or A Dupe? Court Orders Regulators To Reconsider Duke Rate Hike http://wfae.org/post/court-orders-regulators-reconsider-duke-rate-hike <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The North Carolina Supreme Court <a href="http://mediad.publicbroadcasting.net/p/wfae/files/201304/Duke%20Energy%20Decision%20S%20Ct%204%2012%202013.pdf" target="_blank">has ordered state utility regulators to go back and reconsider the rate hike it granted Duke Energy last year.&nbsp; </a>Specifically, the court says North Carolina Utilities Commissioners failed to consider how the increase would affect customers in the midst of an economic downturn.</span></p><p></p><p> Fri, 12 Apr 2013 20:36:57 +0000 Julie Rose 25196 at http://wfae.org Court Orders Regulators To Reconsider Duke Rate Hike Duke's 2012 Earnings Bolstered By Higher Rates http://wfae.org/post/dukes-2012-earnings-bolstered-higher-rates <p></p><p>Duke Energy reported modest earnings for 2012 of about $3 per share – but the number would have been much lower if Duke hadn't raised electric rates in the Carolinas by 7 percent last year. WFAE's Julie Rose reports on this classic case of conflicting interests – where pain for ratepayers means profit for investors:</p><p> Wed, 13 Feb 2013 21:49:21 +0000 Julie Rose 21370 at http://wfae.org Duke's 2012 Earnings Bolstered By Higher Rates