Business http://wfae.org en Lawmakers Consider Repeal Of Local Business Tax http://wfae.org/post/lawmakers-consider-repeal-local-business-tax <p>A plan moving through the state legislature could cost City of Charlotte coffers $8.5 million in local business taxes.</p><p></p><p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 20:32:24 +0000 Ben Bradford 48851 at http://wfae.org Lawmakers Consider Repeal Of Local Business Tax Philip Morris Sells Concord Plant http://wfae.org/post/philip-morris-sells-concord-plant <p>The former Philip Morris plant in Concord has a new owner after sitting vacant for 5 years. It’s a company called Victory Industrial Park, LLC. But what that company plans to do with the property is less clear. WFAE’s Duncan McFadyen reports.</p><p></p><p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 21:08:58 +0000 Duncan McFadyen 48847 at http://wfae.org Philip Morris Sells Concord Plant Family Dollar Cutting Stores, Staff And Prices http://wfae.org/post/family-dollar-cutting-stores-staff-and-prices <p>Family Dollar is closing stores, cutting jobs and lowering prices in response to sinking profits. The Matthews-based company announced the changes Thursday.</p><p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 20:27:25 +0000 Michael Tomsic 48763 at http://wfae.org Family Dollar Cutting Stores, Staff And Prices BMW Plans To Hire 800 At Its Spartanburg Plant http://wfae.org/post/bmw-plans-hire-800-its-spartanburg-plant <p align="left">The BMW plant in Spartanburg is expanding yet again.&nbsp; The company announced plans Friday to add 800 jobs to the facility over the next two years.&nbsp; That will bring BMW’s total workforce there to 8,800.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p align="left">Twenty years ago BMW opened the plant in Spartanburg with 500 workers.&nbsp; The company said its location between the Port of Charleston and I-85 made it ideal, plus South Carolina offers good technical training. &nbsp;</p> Sat, 29 Mar 2014 01:22:36 +0000 Lisa Miller 47904 at http://wfae.org BMW Plans To Hire 800 At Its Spartanburg Plant Center City Partners Pushes For More Retail Uptown http://wfae.org/post/center-city-partners-pushes-more-retail-uptown <p></p><p>Uptown Charlotte is not the “ghost town” it was after business hours 25 years ago. Numerous bars and restaurants keep its streets busy well into the evening. But walk around uptown at any time and you won’t find many retail stores. WFAE’s Duncan McFadyen explains why, and what one group is trying to do to change it.</p><p> Wed, 19 Mar 2014 15:56:26 +0000 Duncan McFadyen 47264 at http://wfae.org Center City Partners Pushes For More Retail Uptown Want Google Fiber? Why Wait? Shelby Company Says It Has Wired The State http://wfae.org/post/want-google-fiber-why-wait-shelby-company-says-it-has-wired-state <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Google is still considering if it will bringing its ultra-high speed internet to cities like Charlotte. But if you don’t want to wait, you may not have to. This week, a small North Carolina Company announced it has already built a similar fiber optic network across the entire state. The company is called </span>RST<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Fiber and we take a look at what they offer and one of the men behind it.</span></p><p></p><p> Fri, 14 Mar 2014 14:07:51 +0000 Tom Bullock 46937 at http://wfae.org Want Google Fiber? Why Wait? Shelby Company Says It Has Wired The State Merger Means Charlotte Will Share Chiquita With Dublin http://wfae.org/post/merger-means-charlotte-will-share-chiquita-dublin <p>Chiquita's merger with an Irish produce company will have a minimal impact on the number of jobs the banana giant keeps in Charlotte. The company currently employs about 300 people at its headquarters in uptown.</p><p> Mon, 10 Mar 2014 19:59:46 +0000 Michael Tomsic 46621 at http://wfae.org Merger Means Charlotte Will Share Chiquita With Dublin Movie Studio At Eastland Mall Site Appears Dead http://wfae.org/post/movie-studio-eastland-mall-site-appears-dead <p>The future of the Eastland Mall site appears to be up in the air again. City staff have recommended against extending an exclusive contract with Studio Charlotte, the company that wants to turn the 80-acre property into film and TV studios. WFAE’s Duncan McFadyen reports.</p><p> Fri, 07 Mar 2014 02:19:21 +0000 Duncan McFadyen 46417 at http://wfae.org Movie Studio At Eastland Mall Site Appears Dead North Carolina's Alpaca Scene http://wfae.org/post/north-carolinas-alpaca-scene <p>Alpacas—the smaller, South American cousins of the llama—provide fleece for all kinds of knitted goods. The number of alpacas, and alpaca farms, has steadily grown since Americans began importing the animal for its fleece in the 1980s. North Carolina is part of this trend even though its climate is not ideal for alpacas.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p> Mon, 24 Feb 2014 15:07:19 +0000 Ben Bradford 45694 at http://wfae.org North Carolina's Alpaca Scene Ride-Sharing App Lyft Expands Service Area To Include Airport Pickups http://wfae.org/post/ride-sharing-app-lyft-expands-service-area-include-airport-pickups <p>You may be seeing more cars with those fuzzy pink mustaches attached to their grilles in the coming weeks. The app-based ride sharing service Lyft&nbsp;has expanded its coverage area in Charlotte to include most of the metro area, including Charlotte-Douglas airport. WFAE’s Duncan McFadyen reports it’s the first major ride-sharing service to start picking up passengers at the airport.</p><p> Wed, 19 Feb 2014 11:36:45 +0000 Duncan McFadyen 45325 at http://wfae.org Ride-Sharing App Lyft Expands Service Area To Include Airport Pickups