City of Charlotte http://wfae.org en City Of Charlotte Will Withhold Cannon Documents For Now http://wfae.org/post/city-charlotte-will-withhold-cannon-documents-now <p>The City of Charlotte has announced it will withhold releasing vast amounts of public records about former mayor Patrick Cannon.</p><p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 22:19:00 +0000 Ben Bradford 48852 at http://wfae.org Charlotte City Manager: No Property Tax Increase Needed http://wfae.org/post/charlotte-city-manager-no-property-tax-increase-needed <p>Charlotte property owners got some good news at last night’s budget meeting—city manager Ron Carlee will not recommend a property tax increase.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">“Unless I get contrary guidance from council, the budget which I will be putting together for you will not include a property tax rate change,” </span>Carlee<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> said.</span></p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 14:29:38 +0000 Ben Bradford 48731 at http://wfae.org Bojangles Requires Millions In Renovations On Top Of Amateur Sports Spending http://wfae.org/post/bojangles-requires-millions-renovations-top-amateur-sports-spending <p>A plan to turn Bojangles Coliseum and the area around it into an amateur sports complex will require an extra $12 million immediately, staff told city council today. Over the next decade, that amount could rise to over $50 million. Those costs are in addition to millions the council approved for the project in last year’s Capital Improvement Plan.</p><p></p><p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 14:29:05 +0000 Ben Bradford 48730 at http://wfae.org Bojangles Requires Millions In Renovations On Top Of Amateur Sports Spending City Cancels Airport Solar Farm http://wfae.org/post/city-cancels-airport-solar-farm <p>The City of Charlotte has canceled its plan for an ambitious solar power project at Charlotte-Douglas airport, at least for now. Airport officials say new construction and old bonds make the project unfeasible.</p><p></p><p> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 20:10:29 +0000 Ben Bradford 46704 at http://wfae.org City Cancels Airport Solar Farm Movie Studio At Eastland Mall Site Appears Dead http://wfae.org/post/movie-studio-eastland-mall-site-appears-dead <p>The future of the Eastland Mall site appears to be up in the air again. City staff have recommended against extending an exclusive contract with Studio Charlotte, the company that wants to turn the 80-acre property into film and TV studios. WFAE’s Duncan McFadyen reports.</p><p> Fri, 07 Mar 2014 02:19:21 +0000 Duncan McFadyen 46417 at http://wfae.org Movie Studio At Eastland Mall Site Appears Dead City Manager Ron Carlee Decides To "Ban The Box" http://wfae.org/post/city-manager-ron-carlee-decides-ban-box <p>Charlotte City Manager Ron Carlee officially "banned the box" on Friday. Applicants for city jobs will now no longer see a question about prior convictions on the initial application. The exception will be for public safety jobs – like police officers or airport employees.</p><p>Applicants will be asked about criminal history much later in the process --&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">in some departments after several rounds of interviews.</span></p> Mon, 03 Mar 2014 19:35:50 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 46161 at http://wfae.org City Manager Ron Carlee Decides To "Ban The Box" City Aims To Make Charlotte Airport A Big Player In Solar Energy Production http://wfae.org/post/city-aims-make-charlotte-airport-big-player-solar-energy-production <p>When you look out the airplane window as you fly into Charlotte, the trees thin, the Uptown skyline rises into view, and the buildings of West Charlotte grow larger, as your plane drops altitude. The City of Charlotte hopes to add solar panels glinting across the airport’s parking lots and in-between the runways to that view. The city is soliciting bids for an ambitious solar project at the airport.</p><p></p> Sat, 23 Nov 2013 00:33:50 +0000 Ben Bradford 39799 at http://wfae.org City Aims To Make Charlotte Airport A Big Player In Solar Energy Production Court Punts Charlotte Airport Decision Back To Feds http://wfae.org/post/court-punts-charlotte-airport-decision-back-feds <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>Still more <em>punting</em> going on in the fight for control of Charlotte Douglas International Airport: A Superior Court judge today refused to weigh-in on questions posed by federal regulators about the nature of the commission lawmakers created to run the airport.&nbsp;</p><p></p> Fri, 01 Nov 2013 20:51:32 +0000 Julie Rose 38448 at http://wfae.org Court Punts Charlotte Airport Decision Back To Feds Judge To Hear More Airport Arguments Friday http://wfae.org/post/judge-hear-more-airport-arguments-friday <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">"The nature of the beast" is the question for Judge Robert Ervin, who will hear arguments about Charlotte Douglas International Airport Friday in a Mecklenburg County courtroom.</span></p><p></p><p> Fri, 01 Nov 2013 00:56:06 +0000 Julie Rose 38352 at http://wfae.org $800K Renovation Set For Belk Theater Ladies Room http://wfae.org/post/800k-renovation-set-belk-theater-ladies-room <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>Theater-going ladies will rejoice at an $800,000 restroom renovation on the city council's agenda Monday night.</p><p></p><p> Mon, 28 Oct 2013 05:31:09 +0000 Julie Rose 37992 at http://wfae.org $800K Renovation Set For Belk Theater Ladies Room