NPR Business http://wfae.org en Economy Hurts Young Adults Looking For Their First Job http://wfae.org/post/economy-hurts-young-adults-looking-their-first-job Youth unemployment is double the national rate. Renee Montagne talks to Roberto Angulo of AfterCollege Inc. and Courtney Hawkins of the Federation Employment & Guidance Service Bronx Youth Center. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 09:06:00 +0000 editor 54691 at http://wfae.org World Cup Broadcasting Rights Pay Off For ESPN, Univision http://wfae.org/post/world-cup-broadcasting-rights-pay-espn-univision Renee Montagne talks to John Ourand of the Sports Business Journal about the business of watching the World Cup. It's been a boon for ESPN and Univision even with limited advertising during the games. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 09:00:00 +0000 editor 54688 at http://wfae.org The Last Word In Business http://wfae.org/post/last-word-business-358 Steve Inskeep and Renee Montagne have the Last Word in business. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 09:00:00 +0000 editor 54689 at http://wfae.org FTC Sues Amazon Over In-App Purchases Made By Kids http://wfae.org/post/ftc-sues-amazon-over-app-purchases-made-kids Amazon is facing charges by the Federal Trade Commission that it willingly allowed children to make millions of dollars in purchases inside apps without parental consent. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 09:00:00 +0000 editor 54690 at http://wfae.org When Ikea Raises Its Minimum Wage, Where Does The Money Come From? http://wfae.org/post/when-ikea-raises-its-minimum-wage-where-does-money-come IKEA, a company famous for keeping its costs down, recently announced that it would raise the average minimum wage for its retail workers to $10.76 an hour. Why would the company volunteer to pay its workers more?<p>"By taking better care of our coworkers," says Rob Olson, the Acting President of IKEA US, "they will take better care of our customers, who will take better care of IKEA. We see it as a win-win-win opportunity."<p>Win. Win. Win. Sounds like a free lunch. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 07:31:00 +0000 David Kestenbaum 54686 at http://wfae.org When Ikea Raises Its Minimum Wage, Where Does The Money Come From? Picketing Truckers Raise Tensions At LA Port Amid Dockworker Talks http://wfae.org/post/picketing-truckers-raise-tensions-la-port-amid-dockworker-talks Labor tensions are high at the largest port complex in the country — Los Angeles and Long Beach — which handles nearly half of all the cargo coming into the United States.<p>Short-haul truck drivers are striking. They're the independent, contract truckers who bring the containers off the ships to nearby warehouses for companies like Wal-Mart and Costco. At the twin ports, their numbers hover around 10,000.<p>Just over 100 of them have been protesting this week, including driver Santos Lopez. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 20:59:00 +0000 Kirk Siegler 54671 at http://wfae.org Picketing Truckers Raise Tensions At LA Port Amid Dockworker Talks A New Device Lets You Track Your Preschooler ... And Listen In http://wfae.org/post/new-device-lets-you-track-your-preschooler-and-listen I was always thankful that my parents didn't "leash me" at the mall or grocery store when I was a child — but you'll never guess what parents can strap on their kids nowadays.<p>LG Electronics <a href="http://www.lgnewsroom.com/newsroom/contents/64572">introduced a device</a> Wednesday called the KizON. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 20:08:00 +0000 editor 54654 at http://wfae.org A New Device Lets You Track Your Preschooler ... And Listen In Eileen Ford, Creator Of The Supermodel, Dies At 92 http://wfae.org/post/eileen-ford-creator-supermodel-dies-92 Eileen Ford, who is credited with inventing the modern modeling business and in the process launching the careers of supermodels such as Lauren Hutton, Christie Brinkley and Naomi Campbell, has died at 92.<p>A spokeswoman who handles public relations for Ford Models confirmed Wednesday's death, which follows a fall Ford took last week at her New York apartment.<p><a href="http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2014-07-10/eileen-ford-agent-who-promoted-world-s-supermodels-dies-at-92.html">Bloomberg says</a>: "For more than six decades, Ford represented the world's most prominent models and raised the pr Thu, 10 Jul 2014 19:15:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 54645 at http://wfae.org Eileen Ford, Creator Of The Supermodel, Dies At 92 Samsung Faces Allegation That A Chinese Supplier Used Child Labor http://wfae.org/post/samsung-faces-allegation-chinese-supplier-used-child-labor One of electronics giant Samsung's suppliers in China used child labor to meet the South Korean company's production targets, a labor watchdog <a href="http://chinalaborwatch.org/pdf/2014.07.10_Shinyang_Electronics_report__FINAL.pdf">said in a report</a> Thursday.<p>New York-based China Labor Watch says the Shinyang Electronics factory in Dongguan, China, hired child labor and underage student workers, altering "the strictness of hiring practices in order to adapt to Samsung's demands."<p>"These minors will usually only work for a period of three to six months, toiling for 11 hours every day w Thu, 10 Jul 2014 17:10:00 +0000 Krishnadev Calamur 54633 at http://wfae.org Samsung Faces Allegation That A Chinese Supplier Used Child Labor Contraceptive Ruling Becomes Campaign Trail Flashpoint http://wfae.org/post/contraceptive-ruling-becomes-campaign-trail-flashpoint Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Democrats in the Senate have unveiled legislation to override the recent Supreme Court decision on contraceptives.<p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>In that decision, the court sided with the owners of Hobby Lobby, a chain of craft stores, ruling that many businesses do not have to pay for health insurance to cover contraceptives if they object on religious grounds.<p>SCOTT HORSLEY, BYLINE: The new legislation is unlikely to pass, but the Hobby Lobby decision has become a flashpoint ahead of the midterm elections. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 10:52:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 54603 at http://wfae.org