Unemployment http://wfae.org en NC Unemployment Rate Drops To 7.4% http://wfae.org/post/nc-unemployment-rate-drops-74 <p>The unemployment rate dropped significantly in November from 8 to 7.4 percent.&nbsp; The rate has fallen 2 percentage points in the past year and is the lowest it’s been since 2008.&nbsp; But that’s not all cause for celebration.&nbsp;</p><p>The labor force decreased by about 8,100.&nbsp; Allan Freyer, an analyst with the N.C. Budget and Tax Center, says the rate dropped so much because many people just became discouraged and stopped looking for work.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 23 Dec 2013 16:29:34 +0000 Lisa Miller 41571 at http://wfae.org Military's Huge Impact In NC May Shrink http://wfae.org/post/militarys-huge-impact-nc-may-shrink <p>The military supports roughly 540,000 jobs in North Carolina, but its presence may shrink over the next few years. That's according to a report the N.C. Commerce Department released Tuesday.</p><p> Tue, 05 Nov 2013 21:46:07 +0000 Michael Tomsic 38661 at http://wfae.org 1,200 Turn Out For 'Moral Monday' Protest In Raleigh http://wfae.org/post/1200-turn-out-moral-monday-protest-raleigh <p>About 80 people were arrested at the state house in Raleigh Monday night. It was the culmination of the latest “Moral Monday”—a series of protests led by the NAACP, against Governor Pat McCrory and Republican legislative leaders. All told, nearly 700 have been arrested in the nine weeks of demonstrations. As the protests have continued to grow, WFAE’s Ben Bradford documented the latest event.</p><p></p> Tue, 02 Jul 2013 13:45:01 +0000 Ben Bradford 30516 at http://wfae.org 1,200 Turn Out For 'Moral Monday' Protest In Raleigh Nearly 30,000 NC Jobs Could Be Lost If No Budget Deal Reached http://wfae.org/post/nearly-30000-nc-jobs-could-be-lost-if-no-budget-deal-reached <p></p><p>The combination of tax raises and spending cuts, known as the fiscal cliff, begins taking effect on Wednesday. If no compromise is reached in Washington, North Carolina could lose nearly 30,000 jobs and three percent of its economic output, according to a July report from George Mason University. That’s next year alone. Overall, North Carolina would face more than a $120 billion in cuts over the next decade.</p> Sat, 29 Dec 2012 01:06:12 +0000 Ben Bradford 18496 at http://wfae.org Nearly 30,000 NC Jobs Could Be Lost If No Budget Deal Reached State Unemployment Report Shows Modest Improvement http://wfae.org/post/state-unemployment-report-shows-modest-improvement <p></p><p>North Carolina’s unemployment rate dropped to a seasonally-adjusted 9.1 percent in November, according to the latest data today from the state’s Commerce Department. That’s still more than a point above the national rate of 7.7 percent, but it’s still more “ho ho ho” than “bah humbug.”</p><p>While it decreased by 0.2 percent, North Carolina’s unemployment is still the fifth highest in the nation. But, there’s some trends that have Clemson University economist Bruce Yandle feeling the holiday spirit.</p> Fri, 21 Dec 2012 18:47:35 +0000 Ben Bradford 18139 at http://wfae.org State Unemployment Report Shows Modest Improvement Helping The Unemployed Learn On The Job http://wfae.org/post/helping-unemployed-learn-job <p>Sheila Hemphill is a grant specialist with Charlotte Works. She interacts with a lot of job seekers – including many who have been unemployed for a very long time.</p> Mon, 08 Oct 2012 21:25:05 +0000 Person: Tasnim Shamma 13401 at http://wfae.org