Election 2008 http://wfae.org en Reports and Analysis from Mecklenburg County and North Carolina http://wfae.org/post/reports-and-analysis-mecklenburg-county-and-north-carolina <p>http://66.225.205.104/Bupdate.mp3</p><p>WFAE News' latest reports from Mecklenburg County and across North Carolina and analysis of election returns.</p> Tue, 04 Nov 2008 17:00:00 +0000 WFAE News 5530 at http://wfae.org Obama Discusses NC Issues http://wfae.org/post/obama-discusses-nc-issues <p>http://66.225.205.104/DD20080929.mp3</p><p>While John McCain is focusing on other swing states, Barack Obama and running mate Joseph Biden are spending a lot of time in North Carolina. Obama or Biden has visited the state three weeks in a row. On Saturday, Obama addressed about 20,000 people in Greensboro. Afterward, reporter Dave DeWitt of WUNC-FM spoke to Obama about illegal immigration, offshore drilling and why he believes has has a shot at being the first Democratic presidential candidate in 30 years to win the state.</p> Wed, 01 Oct 2008 17:00:00 +0000 Dave DeWitt, WUNC-FM 5532 at http://wfae.org What Happened To Health Care As An Election Issue? http://wfae.org/post/what-happened-health-care-election-issue <p>http://66.225.205.104/JR20080925.mp3</p> Wed, 24 Sep 2008 17:00:00 +0000 Julie Rose 5533 at http://wfae.org Obama Rallies Charlotte http://wfae.org/post/obama-rallies-charlotte <p>http://66.225.205.104/JR20080922.mp3</p> Mon, 22 Sep 2008 17:00:00 +0000 Julie Rose 5534 at http://wfae.org Local Democrats Find Opportunity in Missed Obama Visit http://wfae.org/post/local-democrats-find-opportunity-missed-obama-visit <p>http://66.225.205.104/JR20080708.mp3</p><p>Airplane problems kept Barack Obama from visiting Charlotte yesterday, but local Democrats jumped on the event as an opportunity to pump other candidates for office. WFAE's Julie Rose explains.</p> Tue, 08 Jul 2008 17:00:00 +0000 editor 5537 at http://wfae.org Obama's Charlotte Visit Delayed http://wfae.org/post/obamas-charlotte-visit-delayed <p>http://66.225.205.104/JR20080707.mp3</p><p>Democratic Presidential candidate Barack Obama had planned a visit to Charlotte today, kicking off a week of stops in states that went to Bush in the last two elections. But the Illinois Senator never made it. WFAE's Julie Rose reports.</p> Mon, 07 Jul 2008 17:00:00 +0000 editor 5538 at http://wfae.org Obama Launches Nationwide Tour In North Carolina http://wfae.org/post/obama-launches-nationwide-tour-north-carolina <p>http://66.225.205.104/LL20080610.mp3</p><p>Barack Obama held a private rally at the North Carolina fairgrounds Monday. The fact that the presumptive Democratic presidential nominee chose North Carolina as the state to kick off a two-week tour in which he'll discuss the economy, comes as a surprise to many. The state, after all, hasn't voted Democratic in a presidential election since the 1970s. For WFAE News, Laura Leslie has more.</p> Tue, 10 Jun 2008 17:00:00 +0000 editor 5539 at http://wfae.org McCain to Visit Charlotte http://wfae.org/post/mccain-visit-charlotte <p>http://66.225.205.104/Jr20080421.mp3</p><p>North Carolina's May 6 Primary is a big deal for the Democrats running for president. But it's just a rubber stamp for Republican Presidential Candidate John McCain. Still, the Charlotte Chamber today announced that McCain will pay a visit to speak with local business leaders the day before the primary. WFAE's Julie Rose reports.</p> Mon, 21 Apr 2008 17:00:00 +0000 editor 5540 at http://wfae.org Two NC Congressmen Endorse Obama http://wfae.org/post/two-nc-congressmen-endorse-obama <p>http://66.225.205.104/LM20080416.mp3</p><p>Congressmen Mel Watt and David Price are joining four other North Carolina superdelegates, endorsing Barack Obama. WFAE's Lisa Miller has more.</p> Wed, 16 Apr 2008 17:00:00 +0000 editor 5541 at http://wfae.org North Carolina in the Political Spotlight http://wfae.org/post/north-carolina-political-spotlight <p>http://66.225.205.104/JR20080409.mp3</p><p>North Carolina is in the political spotlight this Spring - which is unusual since the state's primary is one of the last in the nation. WFAE's Julie Rose reports on the unlikely importance of May 6th, and considers whether it will make a difference come November.</p> Tue, 08 Apr 2008 17:00:00 +0000 editor 5542 at http://wfae.org