banking http://wfae.org en BofA Plods Toward More Basics, Less Risk http://wfae.org/post/bofa-plods-toward-more-basics-less-risk <p>Bank of America continues its steady plod toward a more boring future focused on banking basics, rather than the risky behaviors that drove profits during the high-flying years.</p> Wed, 16 Oct 2013 16:27:10 +0000 Julie Rose 37394 at http://wfae.org BofA Trims Drive-Up Service In Some Branches http://wfae.org/post/bofa-trims-drive-service-some-branches <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Bank of America is eliminating drive-through teller service at some of its branches across the country – including six locations in the Charlotte region.</span></p> Wed, 21 Aug 2013 21:00:18 +0000 Julie Rose 33776 at http://wfae.org BofA Trims Drive-Up Service In Some Branches BofA Shareholders Get Folksy Welcome http://wfae.org/post/bofa-shareholders-get-folksy-welcome <p>Bank of America shareholders gathered for their annual meeting in Uptown Charlotte Wednesday morning.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Four years after the financial crisis, these meetings have settled into a familiar routine:&nbsp; a few dozen protesters wave signs outside while activist investors control the microphone inside. &nbsp;Today was no different, but the meeting </span><em style="line-height: 1.5;">did </em><span style="line-height: 1.5;">have a different atmosphere.</span></p><p></p> Wed, 08 May 2013 20:29:30 +0000 Julie Rose 26889 at http://wfae.org BofA Shareholders Get Folksy Welcome Humane Society rescues 19 dogs from puppy mill http://wfae.org/post/humane-society-rescues-19-dogs-puppy-mill <P>The Humane Society of Charlotte says it rescued 19 breeding dogs early Saturday from a puppy mill in western North Carolina.&nbsp; The society said its emergency response team found a breeding operation at the site, with 19 Maltese and Maltese mix dogs between 4 and 10 years old.</P> <P>Officials said the dogs had mouth, eye and skin problems resulting from a lack of veterinary care. They will be treated then sent to foster homes.&nbsp;</P> <P>In a statement Saturday, Jorge Ortega, vice president of operations for the Human Society of Charlotte, criticized the operation. Sun, 28 Apr 2013 14:03:50 +0000 David Boraks 26177 at http://wfae.org The Fiscal Cliff http://wfae.org/post/fiscal-cliff <p> We look at the debate over the looming fiscal cliff. Charlotte has long been seen as a financial hub in America so we'll turn to some of our own local experts to find out exactly what the fiscal cliff is, what the debate is all about, the likely outcome and what impact any deal may have on us all. We examine the fiscal cliff in detail, when Charlotte Talks.</p><p> Thu, 06 Dec 2012 05:00:00 +0000 17112 at http://wfae.org The Fiscal Cliff Big Banks Now Required To Improve Service On Home Loans http://wfae.org/post/big-banks-now-required-improve-service-home-loans <p>Getting a mortgage modified should be significantly easier as of today - assuming five of the nation's largest lenders deliver on promises they made in a $25 billion settlement signed six months ago.</p><p>Today is the deadline for Bank of America, Wells Fargo, JP Morgan Chase, Citigroup and Ally Financial to implement hundreds of improvements to customer service for home loans.</p> Tue, 02 Oct 2012 04:51:54 +0000 Julie Rose 12970 at http://wfae.org Big Banks Now Required To Improve Service On Home Loans Bank Websites Under Cyber Attack http://wfae.org/post/bank-websites-under-cyber-attack <p>The websites of several major U.S. banks, including Wells Fargo and PNC, are under cyber attack today. Reports of trouble accessing online banking are pouring into the tracking website Sitedown.co, says founder Jeff Herdell.</p><p>"They're referred to as DDoS attacks," explains Herdell. "Hackers will take over many computers and direct floods of traffic at these bank sites in hopes that the service will be disrupted and go down temporarily. So it's more of a nuisance than anything, but it's very significant right now."</p> Wed, 26 Sep 2012 20:53:59 +0000 Julie Rose 8205 at http://wfae.org Reports Of New BofA Layoffs Misleading http://wfae.org/post/reports-new-bofa-layoffs-misleading <p>Headlines Thursday were full of news that Bank of America will cut 16,000 jobs by the end of the year. But the headlines can be misleading.</p><p>These layoff reports give the impression that every few months there's another major bloodletting at Bank of America. In fact, this latest 16,000 number - and others we've heard in recent months - are all part of the same job cuts announcement Bank of America made last September -&nbsp; 30,000 jobs it said it would cut.</p><p>At that time, Bank of America CEO Brian Moynihan described a plan to get the bloated bank back to its fighting weight.</p> Thu, 20 Sep 2012 20:25:07 +0000 Julie Rose 5846 at http://wfae.org Reports Of New BofA Layoffs Misleading Regions Bank Sneaks Payday Lending Into NC http://wfae.org/post/regions-bank-sneaks-payday-lending-nc <P>Shops that offer short-term, small-dollar loans with annual percentage rates of 300 and 400 percent do not cluster on urban street corners in North Carolina like they do in other states. Thu, 13 Sep 2012 21:44:18 +0000 Julie Rose 4989 at http://wfae.org Regions Bank Sneaks Payday Lending Into NC