Kay Hagan http://wfae.org en Let The Libertarian Media Hype Begin http://wfae.org/post/let-libertarian-media-hype-begin <p>There are certain stories that just come out every election cycle like clockwork, akin to a consistent dog whistle for some reporters who really don’t want to take the time to investigate the past to discover what might be in the present.</p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 17:11:59 +0000 Michael Bitzer 54464 at http://wfae.org Let The Libertarian Media Hype Begin WFAE Talks Tillis vs. Hagan, Teacher Pay, Panthers http://wfae.org/post/wfae-talks-tillis-vs-hagan-teacher-pay-panthers The political rhetoric is high in North Carolina's U.S. Senate race, which is already already one of the most closely-watched races in the country. Greg, Lisa and Ben also discuss teacher pay proposals, and Ben gives his analysis of the Carolina Panthers' first round draft pick and the team's receiving corps.</p><p> Fri, 09 May 2014 21:18:20 +0000 Greg Collard, Lisa Miller & Ben Bradford 50641 at http://wfae.org WFAE Talks Tillis vs. Hagan, Teacher Pay, Panthers Looking Ahead To The General Election With Michael Bitzer http://wfae.org/post/looking-ahead-general-election-michael-bitzer <p>It’s House Speaker Thom Tillis versus incumbent Democratic U.S. Senator Kay Hagan in the general election. Tillis cruised to victory in the Republican primary, winning about 45 percent of the vote in the 8-person race. Catawba College political science professor Michael Bitzer joined us to talk about this race and other observations from the primary results.</p><p> Wed, 07 May 2014 15:43:32 +0000 Kevin Kniestedt 50463 at http://wfae.org Looking Ahead To The General Election With Michael Bitzer Hagan Vs. Tillis: Let The General Election Commence http://wfae.org/post/hagan-vs-tillis-let-general-election-commence <p></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The 2014 race for North Carolina’s U.S. Senate seat is set. Thom </span>Tillis<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> will take on Kay Hagan this November.&nbsp; </span>Tillis<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> won the Republican primary last night. He garnered 45 percent of the vote, avoiding a runoff.</span></p> Wed, 07 May 2014 07:01:53 +0000 Tom Bullock 50431 at http://wfae.org Hagan Vs. Tillis: Let The General Election Commence Tillis Expands Lead In Latest Polls, Could Avoid Runoff http://wfae.org/post/tillis-expands-lead-latest-polls-could-avoid-runoff <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">New polls show Republican Senate candidate Thom </span>Tillis<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> pulling ahead in the crowded Republican primary election and near the threshold to avoid a runoff election in June</span></p> Tue, 29 Apr 2014 21:18:10 +0000 Ben Bradford 49978 at http://wfae.org Tillis Expands Lead In Latest Polls, Could Avoid Runoff Money Pouring In As Senate Primary Approaches http://wfae.org/post/money-pouring-senate-primary-approaches <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">North Carolina hosts one of the most watched electoral races in the country this year, as first-term Democratic Senator Kay Hagan is up for reelection. Who will win is already a toss-up, in a year where Republicans and Democrats are battling for control of the Senate. </span>WFAE’s<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Ben Bradford joined Morning Edition Host Kevin </span>Kniestedt<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> to discuss the race.</span></p><p></p><p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 14:05:42 +0000 Ben Bradford 49107 at http://wfae.org Money Pouring In As Senate Primary Approaches B-Roll Footage Blurs Lines Between Campaigns And Interest Groups http://wfae.org/post/b-roll-footage-blurs-lines-between-campaigns-and-interest-groups <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Many of the political ads you see and hear are produced by independent third-party interest groups. They are called “independent” because it’s illegal for these groups and candidates to coordinate their campaigns.</span></p><p>But this year it’s harder to distinguish between these groups and some candidates in North Carolina’s U.S. Senate Race.</p><p>This year the campaigns of Thom Tillis and Kay Hagan are pushing the boundaries of election law.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 02 Apr 2014 13:10:32 +0000 Tom Bullock 48068 at http://wfae.org B-Roll Footage Blurs Lines Between Campaigns And Interest Groups Outside Attack Ads Underway In NC Senate Race http://wfae.org/post/outside-attack-ads-underway-nc-senate-race <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">During this year’s election season, the biggest prize in North Carolina is the U.S. Senate seat held by first-term Democrat Kay Hagan. Big money is already pouring in from both left and right, and attack ads are already on the air.</span></p><p>WFAE’s<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Ben Bradford joined Morning Edition host Kevin </span>Kniestedt<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> to discuss the Senate race, through the lens of one ad, in particular.</span></p><p></p><p> Thu, 06 Mar 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Ben Bradford 46318 at http://wfae.org Outside Attack Ads Underway In NC Senate Race Charlotte A Hit, Hagan Says http://wfae.org/post/charlotte-hit-hagan-says <P>U.S. Senator Kay Hagan stopped by our table on Radio Row at Time Warner Cable Arena. Thu, 06 Sep 2012 19:46:50 +0000 Charlotte Talks 4502 at http://wfae.org Charlotte A Hit, Hagan Says