Charlotte mayor http://wfae.org en Cannon Pleads Guilty To Public Corruption http://wfae.org/post/cannon-pleads-guilty-public-corruption <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Former Charlotte mayor Patrick Cannon pleaded guilty Tuesday to public corruption charges. He admitted he accepted money in return for political influence, and then asked for forgiveness.</span></p><p> Tue, 03 Jun 2014 16:10:37 +0000 Ben Bradford & Tasnim Shamma 52196 at http://wfae.org Cannon Pleads Guilty To Public Corruption Clodfelter On New Job: 'Mayor Like Orchestra's Conductor' http://wfae.org/post/clodfelter-new-job-mayor-orchestras-conductor <p></p><p></p><p>Wednesday, Dan Clodfelter was sworn in as Mayor of Charlotte.&nbsp;</p><p>There was the pledge of allegiance, an oath of office and prayer…more or less the standard affair.&nbsp; Of course how Clodfelter became mayor was anything but. WFAE's Tom Bullock sat down with Charlotte's new mayor just after the ceremony.</p><p> Wed, 09 Apr 2014 21:34:04 +0000 Tom Bullock 48689 at http://wfae.org Clodfelter On New Job: 'Mayor Like Orchestra's Conductor' Dan Clodfelter Appointed Mayor http://wfae.org/post/dan-clodfelter-appointed-mayor <p>Later today, Democratic State Senator Dan Clodfelter will resign the seat he’s held for 8 terms so he can become the next Mayor of Charlotte. Last night, Clodfelter was appointed by the City Council to serve what remains of Patrick Cannon’s term.</p><div><p></p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 08 Apr 2014 03:57:46 +0000 Tom Bullock 48535 at http://wfae.org Dan Clodfelter Appointed Mayor A Rundown Of Who Could Be Charlotte's Next Mayor http://wfae.org/post/rundown-who-could-be-charlottes-next-mayor <p></p><p>The race for the next Mayor of Charlotte will be decided by 11 votes. No the fix is not in for our next election. Only members of the city council will be able to vote for the person who will fill out Patrick Cannon’s term. That vote is expected on Monday.</p><p> Thu, 03 Apr 2014 10:40:00 +0000 Lisa Miller 48228 at http://wfae.org A Rundown Of Who Could Be Charlotte's Next Mayor City Council Will Choose New Mayor April 7 http://wfae.org/post/city-council-will-choose-new-mayor-april-7 <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Charlotte’s city council met Monday night for the first time since the<a href="http://wfae.org/post/mayor-cannon-resigns-after-arrest-federal-bribery-charges"> arrest and resignation of former mayor Patrick Cannon</a>. In less than 20 minutes, the council agreed to hold off on appointing a new mayor for one week.&nbsp;</span>WFAE’s<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;Ben Bradford breaks down the jockeying that will take place in the meantime.</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p> Mon, 31 Mar 2014 23:15:50 +0000 Ben Bradford & Tasnim Shamma 48077 at http://wfae.org City Council Will Choose New Mayor April 7 Charlotte's Next Mayor On Tonight's Council Agenda http://wfae.org/post/charlottes-next-mayor-tonights-council-agenda <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Tonight, Charlotte City Council may have an answer to this question – who is the next mayor of Charlotte?</span></p><p>But no matter what happens at tonight's meeting, Council will undoubtedly try to reassure the public the city is moving on from former mayor Patrick Cannon.</p><p> Mon, 31 Mar 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Tom Bullock 47897 at http://wfae.org Real Estate Company Cuts Ties With Cannon's Wife http://wfae.org/post/real-estate-company-cuts-ties-cannons-wife-0 <p>The real estate company where former Charlotte mayor Patrick Cannon’s wife&nbsp;Trenna&nbsp;works, has severed ties with her.</p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 20:39:47 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 47899 at http://wfae.org Republicans Still Viable In Charlotte (Barely) http://wfae.org/post/republicans-still-viable-charlotte-barely <p>In looking at this year’s Charlotte mayoral election, many observers believed that the election would determine whether the city had become like other national urban areas, a Democratic dominion, or if a GOP candidate could still perform at a level of political relevanIn the end, Republican Edwin Peacock’s candidacy mirrored that of the GOP’s performance from four years ago: he lost with 47% of the vote, one point below 2009’s GOP candidate, John Lassiter, in the last open mayoral contest.</p> Mon, 11 Nov 2013 21:46:28 +0000 Michael Bitzer 39022 at http://wfae.org Republicans Still Viable In Charlotte (Barely) Patrick Cannon Is Charlotte's New Mayor http://wfae.org/post/patrick-cannon-charlottes-new-mayor <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Charlotte has a new mayor. Democrat Patrick Cannon won 53 percent of the vote last night, defeating Republican Edwin Peacock.</span></p><p> Wed, 06 Nov 2013 13:28:18 +0000 Michael Tomsic 38680 at http://wfae.org Patrick Cannon Is Charlotte's New Mayor Democrats Keep Firm Grip On Charlotte http://wfae.org/post/democrats-keep-firm-grip-charlotte <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Democrats maintained their 9 to 2 majority on the Charlotte City Council last night and easily kept hold of the mayor's seat, with Patrick Cannon winning by five percentage points. &nbsp;</span></p> Wed, 06 Nov 2013 03:54:10 +0000 Julie Rose 38677 at http://wfae.org Democrats Keep Firm Grip On Charlotte