Mecklenburg County Commissioners http://wfae.org en MeckLINK Saga Ends, Cardinal Takes Over County Mental Health http://wfae.org/post/mecklink-saga-ends-cardinal-takes-over-county-mental-health <p>As of today, the Mecklenburg County government no longer oversees mental health, substance abuse, or disability services for the county. MeckLINK—the organization it built to handle those services—closed today, as the larger, outside agency Cardinal Innovations takes over. MeckLINK operated for little over a year, but that tenure spurred fights with state lawmakers for control, cost the county millions of dollars, and contributed to the fall of two top county officials.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 02 Apr 2014 15:02:04 +0000 Ben Bradford 48160 at http://wfae.org MeckLINK Saga Ends, Cardinal Takes Over County Mental Health County To Continue Funding Mental Health Services After Cardinal Takeover http://wfae.org/post/county-continue-funding-mental-health-services-after-cardinal-takeover <p>Mecklenburg County government will continue to supplement state and federal Medicaid dollars for mental health services with its own money. The county has provided those funds for years, but their fate has been in limbo, as officials prepare to hand over mental health oversight to an outside organization.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 26 Mar 2014 14:09:51 +0000 Ben Bradford 47717 at http://wfae.org The Once And (Potential) Future Brooklyn, Charlotte http://wfae.org/post/once-and-potential-future-brooklyn-charlotte <p>For much of the 20th century, the southeastern quadrant of Uptown Charlotte contained a bustling neighborhood known as Brooklyn. It formed because of segregation, but grew into the center of Charlotte’s black community.&nbsp; Torn down and paved over, a vibrant Second Ward became a sleepy government district. But city leaders plan to revive the area through a new development that bears a familiar name, if they can get it off the ground.</p> Mon, 24 Mar 2014 13:44:33 +0000 Ben Bradford 47543 at http://wfae.org The Once And (Potential) Future Brooklyn, Charlotte 'We Have To Protect' County Manager Applicants, Cotham Says http://wfae.org/post/we-have-protect-county-manager-applicants-cotham-says <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Four Mecklenburg County Commissioners will be reviewing the applicants for the new county manager.</span></p><p>It's only four because the other five commissioners are locked out of the process. The board voted 6-3 recently to limit the number of commissioners who can see the applications until finalists are chosen.</p><p></p><p> Thu, 31 Oct 2013 13:50:03 +0000 Kevin Kniestedt 38309 at http://wfae.org 'We Have To Protect' County Manager Applicants, Cotham Says Mecklenburg's 'Exemplary' Survey Results Based On Suggestive Questions http://wfae.org/post/mecklenburgs-exemplary-survey-results-based-suggestive-questions <p>How would you rate the services Mecklenburg County provides compared to the taxes you pay? A new survey by the county would have you believe that people in the county overwhelmingly approve of it, but the survey has some flaws.</p><p></p><p> Thu, 03 Oct 2013 22:04:35 +0000 Ben Bradford 36587 at http://wfae.org Mecklenburg's 'Exemplary' Survey Results Based On Suggestive Questions Mecklenburg County Property Taxes Likely To Increase http://wfae.org/post/mecklenburg-county-property-taxes-likely-increase <p>Mecklenburg County commissioners tentatively approved a new budget Tuesday night that includes an increase to the property tax rate of 2.35 cents.</p><p> Wed, 12 Jun 2013 14:02:38 +0000 Michael Tomsic 29189 at http://wfae.org Mecklenburg County Property Taxes Likely To Increase Cotham Answers Nay-sayers Over Firing With Poll http://wfae.org/post/cotham-answers-nay-sayers-over-firing-poll <p>Mecklenburg County Chairman Pat Cotham has taken a lot of heat for the firing of County Manager Harry Jones last week.&nbsp; So she’s decided to fire back at her nay-sayers by releasing <a href="http://www.publicpolicypolling.com/pdf/2011/MecklenburgPollingMemo51613.pdf">results of a poll</a> she commissioned.&nbsp; &nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 17 May 2013 14:27:57 +0000 Lisa Miller 27456 at http://wfae.org Cotham Answers Nay-sayers Over Firing With Poll Commissioners Battle In First Meeting Since Firing Jones http://wfae.org/post/commissioners-battle-first-meeting-firing-jones <p>A meeting of the Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners Tuesday turned into a series of heated exchanges between commissioners with accusations of ethics violations, sexism and racism. It was the board’s first public meeting since it fired county manager Harry Jones.</p><p> Wed, 15 May 2013 13:44:49 +0000 Michael Tomsic 27327 at http://wfae.org