solar http://wfae.org en NC Renewable Energy, And Surcharges, Set To Rise http://wfae.org/post/nc-renewable-energy-and-surcharges-set-rise <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Duke Energy reports it cost about $30 million to comply with North Carolina’s renewable energy requirement last year. As that requirement doubles next year, Duke is petitioning for an increase in rates.</span></p><p></p><p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 21:40:59 +0000 Ben Bradford 54067 at http://wfae.org NC Renewable Energy, And Surcharges, Set To Rise UNC Charlotte Will Update Engineering Courses With DOE Funding http://wfae.org/post/unc-charlotte-will-update-engineering-courses-doe-funding <p>UNC<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Charlotte is getting money from the U.S. Department of Energy to update its engineering program in an effort to help modernize the power grid.</span></p><p>The five-year project is in collaboration with three other universities.</p><p> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 20:56:20 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 47451 at http://wfae.org UNC Charlotte Will Update Engineering Courses With DOE Funding City Cancels Airport Solar Farm http://wfae.org/post/city-cancels-airport-solar-farm <p>The City of Charlotte has canceled its plan for an ambitious solar power project at Charlotte-Douglas airport, at least for now. Airport officials say new construction and old bonds make the project unfeasible.</p><p></p><p> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 20:10:29 +0000 Ben Bradford 46704 at http://wfae.org City Cancels Airport Solar Farm North Carolina Ranks Second In New Solar Capacity In 2013 http://wfae.org/post/north-carolina-ranks-second-new-solar-capacity-2013 <p>A new report shows North Carolina becoming a bigger player in the solar energy market. The firm NPD Solarbuzz says North Carolina created 400MW (megawatts) of new solar capacity. That’s enough to account for 10 percent of all new solar in the U.S. and Canada. Analyst Michael Barker says it’s a ramp up from previous years.</p><p>"One of the big findings was just how quickly the North Carolina market has grown in 2013," Barker says. "Climbing from the 5th largest U.S. market to the 2nd largest U.S. market."</p> Fri, 10 Jan 2014 19:53:57 +0000 Ben Bradford 42754 at http://wfae.org Duke Renewables President Talks Solar Prospects http://wfae.org/post/duke-renewables-president-talks-solar-prospects <p>Duke Energy is not known for embracing renewable energy in North Carolina. About one percent of the Duke Energy Progress’ and Duke Energy Carolinas’ electric capacities in the state come from renewables—mostly solar, as well as a small amount of wind and biomass. Duke’s favored plan projects that number to rise to just 3 percent, 15 years from now. At the same time, Duke has a subsidiary business solely focused on developing and selling renewable energy across the country. WFAE’s Ben Bradford spoke to the president of Duke Energy Renewables for a businessman’s perspective on the green revolution.</p><p></p><p> Mon, 23 Dec 2013 06:05:21 +0000 Ben Bradford 41556 at http://wfae.org Duke Renewables President Talks Solar Prospects City Aims To Make Charlotte Airport A Big Player In Solar Energy Production http://wfae.org/post/city-aims-make-charlotte-airport-big-player-solar-energy-production <p>When you look out the airplane window as you fly into Charlotte, the trees thin, the Uptown skyline rises into view, and the buildings of West Charlotte grow larger, as your plane drops altitude. The City of Charlotte hopes to add solar panels glinting across the airport’s parking lots and in-between the runways to that view. The city is soliciting bids for an ambitious solar project at the airport.</p><p></p> Sat, 23 Nov 2013 00:33:50 +0000 Ben Bradford 39799 at http://wfae.org City Aims To Make Charlotte Airport A Big Player In Solar Energy Production Duke Plans Minimal Increase To Renewable Energy Over 15 Years http://wfae.org/post/duke-plans-minimal-increase-renewable-energy-over-15-years <p>Over the next 15 years, Duke Energy plans to increase how much it relies on renewable energy only modestly—from 1 percent next year to just 2 percent in 2028. The utility is concentrating on natural gas.</p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">This is part of Duke’s annual filing with state regulators, where the utility maps out how it plans to provide energy to North Carolina customers.</span></p> Wed, 23 Oct 2013 13:44:37 +0000 Ben Bradford 37773 at http://wfae.org Duke Plans Minimal Increase To Renewable Energy Over 15 Years UNC Charlotte Places 13th At Solar Decathlon http://wfae.org/post/unc-charlotte-places-13th-solar-decathlon <p>UNC Charlotte&#39;s solar house, <a href="http://urbaneden.uncc.edu/" target="_blank">UrbanEden</a>, placed <a href="http://www.solardecathlon.gov/scores.html" target="_blank">13 out of 19th</a>&nbsp;in the 2013 Solar Decathlon in Irvine, Calif., that ended this past weekend, but the team went home with the People&#39;s Choice Award.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Team Austria won first place in the competition, the University of Nevada Las Vegas won second and the Czech Republic won third.&nbsp;</span></p> Mon, 14 Oct 2013 20:30:55 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 37243 at http://wfae.org UNC Charlotte Places 13th At Solar Decathlon UNC Charlotte Team Ready For Solar Decathlon Judging http://wfae.org/post/unc-charlotte-team-ready-solar-decathlon-judging <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The </span>UNC<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;Charlotte Solar Decathlon Team is <a href="http://www.solardecathlon.gov/teams.html" target="_blank">one of 19 teams</a> chosen from all over the world to compete in a U.S. Department of Energy Solar Decathlon competition. &nbsp;</span></p> Fri, 04 Oct 2013 03:30:00 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 36585 at http://wfae.org UNC Charlotte Team Ready For Solar Decathlon Judging Lake Norman Solar Farm Faces Opposition At Hearing http://wfae.org/post/lake-norman-solar-farm-faces-opposition-hearing <p>DENVER – A Chapel Hill company’s plan to build a 36-acre “solar farm” in eastern Lincoln County will be up for a public hearing Monday night at the Lincoln County Commission. Some neighbors of a nearby waterfront neighborhood don’t like the idea, and say they’ll be there to speak out against the plan.</p><p>Strata Solar LLC has applied for a conditional-use permit to build an array of 26,000 eight-foot tall solar panels on either side of Webbs Road, near Burton Lane in Denver.</p> Mon, 09 Sep 2013 19:38:19 +0000 David Boraks 34961 at http://wfae.org Lake Norman Solar Farm Faces Opposition At Hearing