Merger http://wfae.org en Airline Merger Creates Few Immediate Changes At CLT http://wfae.org/post/airline-merger-creates-few-immediate-changes-clt <p>US Airways and American Airlines officially merged Monday to create the world’s largest airline. Charlotte’s airport, a current US Airways hub, will become the second-busiest in the new airline’s network but customers and employees are not expected to see immediate changes.</p><p></p><p> Mon, 09 Dec 2013 22:16:25 +0000 Ben Bradford 40768 at http://wfae.org Airline Merger Creates Few Immediate Changes At CLT Charlotte Airport To Remain Major Hub For New American Airlines http://wfae.org/post/charlotte-airport-remain-major-hub-new-american-airlines <p>Charlotte's airport will remain a major hub for U.S. Airways for at least three years after the company merges with American Airlines. That's part of a settlement the airlines reached with the Justice Department and state attorneys general today, which had sued to block the merger.</p><p> Wed, 13 Nov 2013 15:31:38 +0000 Michael Tomsic 39104 at http://wfae.org Charlotte Airport To Remain Major Hub For New American Airlines Airlines' Attorney: DOJ Got Merger Lawsuit 'Very Wrong' http://wfae.org/post/airlines-attorney-doj-got-merger-lawsuit-very-wrong <p>Attorneys for US Airways and American Airlines say they won't make the first move to settle a lawsuit filed Wednesday by the U.S. Department of Justice attempting to block the airlines from merging.</p><p>The Justice Department contends the merger will make it easier for the remaining mega-airlines – Delta, United and American – to cooperate on prices, rather than compete. &nbsp;That means airfares will go up and service will decline, warns the lawsuit. &nbsp;But an attorney for US Airways and American, Rich Parker, says the DOJ is "very wrong."</p> Wed, 14 Aug 2013 20:43:42 +0000 Julie Rose 33340 at http://wfae.org Report: US Airways Merger Could Increase Prices, Jeopardize Charlotte-Douglas http://wfae.org/post/report-us-airways-merger-could-increase-prices-jeopardize-charlotte-douglas <p>The merger of US Airways and American Airlines could have a greater impact than those airlines have previously stated, both on airline prices and on Charlotte’s status as a hub for US Airways traffic, according to a new government analysis of the merger.</p><p> Fri, 21 Jun 2013 14:23:42 +0000 Ben Bradford 29863 at http://wfae.org Report: US Airways Merger Could Increase Prices, Jeopardize Charlotte-Douglas Lynn Good Named Duke CEO http://wfae.org/post/lynn-good-named-duke-ceo <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Duke Energy executive </span><a href="http://www.duke-energy.com/about-us/leaders/lynn-good.asp" style="line-height: 1.5;" target="_blank">Lynn Good</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> will replace long-time CEO Jim</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Rogers.</span></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">We knew Rogers would be leaving Duke. He's 65. </span>And, state regulators made him promise to retire this year as part of a settlement to end the investigation into that surprise CEO switch when Duke merged with Progress.</p> Tue, 18 Jun 2013 16:06:19 +0000 Julie Rose 29621 at http://wfae.org Lynn Good Named Duke CEO Celebrating 45 Years With US Airways (Well, Sort Of) http://wfae.org/post/celebrating-45-years-us-airways-well-sort <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">These days, it's not that often that employees work for the same company for most if not all of their careers. Thursday night, US Airways celebrated employees who have done just that.</span></p><p> Fri, 22 Mar 2013 13:40:24 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 23748 at http://wfae.org Celebrating 45 Years With US Airways (Well, Sort Of) How The US Airways Merger Will Affect Charlotte http://wfae.org/post/how-us-airways-merger-will-affect-charlotte <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The early indication is that Charlotte’s airport is safe in the just-announced merger of US Airways and American Airlines. The new American Airlines will be the world's largest, with a value of 11 billion dollars and an extensive network of destinations.</span></p> Thu, 14 Feb 2013 15:53:26 +0000 Julie Rose & Ben Bradford 21418 at http://wfae.org How The US Airways Merger Will Affect Charlotte