North Carolina tax system http://wfae.org en Who's Happy, Mad And Meh On N.C. Tax Overhaul? http://wfae.org/post/whos-happy-mad-and-meh-nc-tax-overhaul <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Taxes in North Carolina are going to change. The North Carolina House and Senate on Tuesday tentatively passed tax overhaul legislation, and Governor Pat </span>McCrory<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> says he'll sign it.</span></p><p>As lawmakers have considered multiple approaches to changing the state's tax system over the past few months, a variety of people and organizations have swooned over or screamed against the proposals.</p><p>So now that Republican leaders have agreed on a final plan, who loves it, who hates it, and who's mixed on it?&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 17 Jul 2013 13:40:49 +0000 Michael Tomsic & Mark Rumsey 31505 at http://wfae.org Who's Happy, Mad And Meh On N.C. Tax Overhaul? N.C. Senate Passes Tax Overhaul http://wfae.org/post/nc-senate-passes-tax-overhaul <p>Now the North Carolina House and Senate have passed their own plans to overhaul the state's tax system. The Senate gave final approval to its version Wednesday morning.</p><p> Wed, 03 Jul 2013 15:31:13 +0000 Michael Tomsic 30609 at http://wfae.org N.C. Senate Passes Tax Overhaul N.C. Senate Gives Tentative OK To Tax Overhaul http://wfae.org/post/nc-senate-gives-tentative-ok-tax-overhaul <p>The North Carolina Senate tentatively passed a bill today to overhaul the state's tax code.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Senate worked through four earlier versions of a tax overhaul before settling on this one. The fifth edition is much closer to the bill that passed the House, and Senate Republican Leader Phil Berger says that's the point.</span></p><p>"There's been a good deal of work done on trying to find some common ground on where the Senate was and where the House has been," Berger said on the Senate floor Tuesday.</p> Wed, 03 Jul 2013 05:05:33 +0000 Michael Tomsic 30554 at http://wfae.org New Details On NC House Budget http://wfae.org/post/new-details-nc-house-budget <p>North Carolina House Republicans presented Monday afternoon their proposed budget for the next two years. In total, the budget spends $20.6 billion.</p><p>“In the first year we spend around $12 million less than the Senate and around $188 million less than the governor,” said Rep. Nelson Dollar, the chairman of the House Appropriations Committee.</p> Mon, 10 Jun 2013 22:02:44 +0000 Ben Bradford 29108 at http://wfae.org NC Tax Proposals Could Hurt Nonprofits http://wfae.org/post/nc-tax-proposals-could-hurt-nonprofits <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>Proposals to overhaul North Carolina's tax code could discourage people from giving to charities, turn nonprofits into tax collectors, and make it more difficult for some organizations to provide services. Those are a few concerns the N.C. Center for Nonprofits raised Monday.</p><p> Mon, 10 Jun 2013 21:05:04 +0000 Michael Tomsic 29094 at http://wfae.org NC Tax Proposals Could Hurt Nonprofits N.C. House Moves First On Tax Overhaul http://wfae.org/post/nc-house-moves-first-tax-overhaul <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The North Carolina House tentatively passed its version of a tax overhaul Friday. The Republican bill is </span><a href="http://www.wfae.org/post/nc-considers-three-tax-proposals" style="line-height: 1.5;" target="_blank">one of three</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> major tax overhauls the General Assembly is considering.&nbsp;</span></p> Fri, 07 Jun 2013 19:09:58 +0000 Michael Tomsic 28938 at http://wfae.org N.C. House Moves First On Tax Overhaul N.C. Considers Three Tax Proposals http://wfae.org/post/nc-considers-three-tax-proposals <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">North Carolina lawmakers and Governor Pat </span>McCrory<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> are considering three different bills to overhaul the state's tax system. Republican leaders in the Senate introduced the latest and most ambitious one Thursday. There's also a bipartisan Senate plan and a Republican House plan.</span></p><p> Fri, 31 May 2013 20:47:07 +0000 Michael Tomsic & Mark Rumsey 28461 at http://wfae.org N.C. Considers Three Tax Proposals N.C. GOP Leaders Unveil Plan To Cut, Expand Taxes http://wfae.org/post/nc-gop-leaders-unveil-plan-cut-expand-taxes <p>"The largest tax cut in North Carolina history." That's how Republican state senate leaders describe the tax plan they unveiled Tuesday. But that plan also expands the sales tax to many more services.</p><p> Tue, 07 May 2013 21:13:04 +0000 Michael Tomsic 26811 at http://wfae.org N.C. GOP Leaders Unveil Plan To Cut, Expand Taxes As N.C. Considers Tax Overhaul, How Does Current System Work? http://wfae.org/post/nc-considers-tax-overhaul-how-does-current-system-work <p></p><p>Governor Pat McCrory and state lawmakers are considering major changes to North Carolina's tax structure. So we decided to take a closer look at a report released Wednesday detailing the effective tax rates currently in place. It's from the liberal-leaning Institute on Taxation and Economic Policy in Washington, D.C.</p> Wed, 30 Jan 2013 21:30:04 +0000 Michael Tomsic 20443 at http://wfae.org