Science & Environment http://wfae.org en The Moon Puts On A Triple Super Summer Spectacle http://wfae.org/post/moon-puts-triple-super-summer-spectacle <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D1KKpeW231Y</p> Sat, 12 Jul 2014 11:43:00 +0000 L. Carol Ritchie 54771 at http://wfae.org The Moon Puts On A Triple Super Summer Spectacle WATCH: Giant Undulating Anchovy School http://wfae.org/post/watch-giant-undulating-anchovy-school <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XvxIdkhsoqU</p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 19:11:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 54733 at http://wfae.org WATCH: Giant Undulating Anchovy School Elephant Featured In Film 'Alexander' Killed By Thai Poachers http://wfae.org/post/elephant-featured-film-alexander-killed-thai-poachers Poachers in Thailand killed a 50-year-old elephant who appeared in Oliver Stone's 2004 film <em>Alexander</em> before crudely hacking off the animal's giant tusks, according to <a href="http://www.bangkokpost.com/news/local/420052/famous-elephant-slain-killers-ivory-thieves-hunted"><em>The Bangkok Post.</em></a><p>The Asian elephant, named <a href="http://www.elephant.se/database2.php?elephant_id=7146">Phlai Khlao</a>, was used in scenes from the movie starring Colin Farrell and Angelina Jolie. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 14:32:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 54715 at http://wfae.org Elephant Featured In Film 'Alexander' Killed By Thai Poachers Mississippi Child Thought Cured Of HIV Shows Signs Of Infection http://wfae.org/post/mississippi-child-thought-cured-hiv-shows-signs-infection A baby who generated great excitement last year because it appeared she had been cured of HIV is infected with the virus after all, health officials say.<p>This discovery is a setback for the child known as the "Mississippi baby." It also complicates efforts to test what had seemed like a promising new treatment for infants born with HIV.<p>The <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/health/2013/03/04/173258954/scientists-report-first-cure-of-hiv-in-a-child-say-its-a-game-changerhttp:/www.npr.org/blogs/health/2013/03/04/173258954/scientists-report-first-cure-of-hiv-in-a-child-say-its-a-game-changer" Fri, 11 Jul 2014 00:52:00 +0000 Richard Harris 54684 at http://wfae.org Mississippi Child Thought Cured Of HIV Shows Signs Of Infection Alcohol Test: Does Eating Yeast Keep You From Getting Drunk? http://wfae.org/post/alcohol-test-does-eating-yeast-keep-you-getting-drunk Sometimes we drink with the sole purpose of relaxing, or drowning the week's worries. But other times we just want to savor a special craft beer or vintage wine, or make that good meal taste even better.<p>And as we get older, we're warier of that third or fourth glass. The <a href="http://niaaa.nih.gov/alcohol-health/overview-alcohol-consumption">consequences</a> of too much alcohol — the drowsiness, the confusion and the wobbling — are a bigger hindrance. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 20:33:00 +0000 editor 54662 at http://wfae.org Alcohol Test: Does Eating Yeast Keep You From Getting Drunk? Why HIV Spreads Less Easily In Heterosexual Couples http://wfae.org/post/why-hiv-spreads-less-easily-heterosexual-couples HIV is sexist.<p>A woman is twice as likely to catch the virus from an infected partner in a heterosexual relationship than a man is.<p>And homosexual men are at even greater risk. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 19:36:00 +0000 editor 54646 at http://wfae.org Why HIV Spreads Less Easily In Heterosexual Couples Math Nerd Or Bookworm? Many Of The Same Genes Shape Both Abilities http://wfae.org/post/math-nerd-or-bookworm-many-same-genes-shape-both-abilities <strong></strong>Many of us tend to align ourselves with either numbers or words. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 13:46:00 +0000 editor 54616 at http://wfae.org Math Nerd Or Bookworm? Many Of The Same Genes Shape Both Abilities The Science Of Settling: Calculate Your Mate With Moneyball http://wfae.org/post/science-settling-calculate-your-mate-moneyball In case you missed the buzz on Facebook, scientists recently determined that "beer goggles" <a href="http://newsfeed.time.com/2013/03/06/the-science-behind-beer-goggles/">do in fact exist</a>, though not precisely in the way we thought. Consuming alcohol, it seems, tends to elevate desire and reduce inhibitions more than alter our actual perception of another person's attractiveness.<p>But there's another type of virtual eyewear that many of us spend even more time donning — one that has the opposite effect of beer goggles. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:16:00 +0000 Sean Braswell 54607 at http://wfae.org The Science Of Settling: Calculate Your Mate With Moneyball The Little Spacecraft That Couldn't http://wfae.org/post/little-spacecraft-couldnt An audacious quest to reconnect with a vintage NASA spacecraft has suffered a serious setback and is now pretty much over.<p>The satellite launched in 1978 and has been in a long, looping orbit around the sun for about three decades. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 07:28:00 +0000 Nell Greenfieldboyce 54587 at http://wfae.org The Little Spacecraft That Couldn't Bingeing On Bad News Can Fuel Daily Stress http://wfae.org/post/binging-bad-news-can-fuel-daily-stress If you're feeling stressed these days, the news media may be partly to blame.<p>At least that's the suggestion of <a href="http://www.rwjf.org/en/research-publications/find-rwjf-research/2014/07/the-burden-of-stress-in-america.html">a national survey </a>conducted by NPR, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the Harvard School of Public Health.<p>The survey of more than 2,500 Americans found that about 1 in 4 said they had experienced a "great deal" of stress in the previous month. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 07:27:00 +0000 Jon Hamilton 54588 at http://wfae.org Bingeing On Bad News Can Fuel Daily Stress