online charter schools http://wfae.org en Getting Closer To Rules For Online Charters http://wfae.org/post/getting-closer-rules-online-charters <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Two virtual charter schools run by for-profit companies are trying to open schools in North Carolina. These would be the first online charters in the state.&nbsp; A group appointed by the state board of education to help recommend rules for these types of schools is wrapping its work up. They completed their discussions this week.</span></p><p> Fri, 28 Feb 2014 13:44:46 +0000 Lisa Miller 45977 at http://wfae.org Getting Closer To Rules For Online Charters Tough Questions Need Answers Before NC Gives OK To Online Charter Schools http://wfae.org/post/tough-questions-need-answers-nc-gives-ok-online-charter-schools <p>Two virtual charter schools run by for-profit companies are trying to open schools in North Carolina. In the past, the state board of education has refused to consider these schools. But this year the board appointed a group to figure out how to evaluate virtual charters. The group heard from those two companies this week. They say it’s not fair to compare them to brick-and-mortar schools.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 30 Jan 2014 15:10:22 +0000 Lisa Miller 44018 at http://wfae.org Tough Questions Need Answers Before NC Gives OK To Online Charter Schools NC Court Of Appeals Rules Online Charter's Application Doesn't Stand http://wfae.org/post/nc-court-appeals-rules-online-charters-application-doesnt-stand <p>The North Carolina Court of Appeals says a group wanting to open an online charter school in the state will have to apply again.&nbsp; The group backed by the for-profit virtual charter operator K12 argued the state should have allowed it to open last year.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 03 Dec 2013 21:45:58 +0000 Lisa Miller 40385 at http://wfae.org Three Groups Want To Open Online Charters In 2015 http://wfae.org/post/three-groups-want-open-online-charters-2015 <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Dozens of new charter schools have opened in North Carolina since the cap on them was lifted a couple years ago.&nbsp; But the state still does not have an online charter.&nbsp; This year three groups hope to get approval to open virtual charters.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Tue, 12 Nov 2013 13:13:41 +0000 Lisa Miller 39059 at http://wfae.org Three Groups Want To Open Online Charters In 2015 NC School Board Set To Approve Policies Guiding Online Charters http://wfae.org/post/nc-school-board-set-approve-policies-guiding-online-charters <p style="margin-left:4.5pt;">North Carolina is getting ready for a new breed of charter school.&nbsp; They’re virtual schools, where students do all or most of their work online.&nbsp; The state board of education Thursday is set to approve new policies to guide these schools.&nbsp; They include paying the schools less per student than a regular charter and capping the student to teacher ratio.</p> Wed, 09 Jan 2013 21:05:14 +0000 Lisa Miller 19140 at http://wfae.org NC Board Of Education Consider Policies For Online Charters http://wfae.org/post/nc-board-education-consider-policies-online-charters <p>North Carolina has no online charter schools, but the state is getting ready for them.&nbsp; The state board of education is considering a list of policies to guide these schools.&nbsp; It includes paying them less per student than a regular charter and capping the student to teacher ratio.</p> Thu, 06 Dec 2012 14:19:35 +0000 Lisa Miller 17158 at http://wfae.org