Peter Kenyon http://wfae.org en A Trip Into Odessa's Rich, Dark History http://wfae.org/post/trip-odessas-rich-dark-history As Ukraine seeks international help to bring Crimea back from Russian control, residents of Odessa watching warily. The historic Black Sea port has been conquered repeatedly throughout history. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 10:11:00 +0000 Peter Kenyon 48795 at http://wfae.org Divisive Issues For Now Don't Derail Iran Nuclear Talks http://wfae.org/post/divisive-issues-now-dont-derail-iran-nuclear-talks Tensions between Russia and Ukraine have left Moscow on the outs with Germany, France, Britain and the U.S. Those countries are partnered with Russia in talks with Iran over its nuclear program. Wed, 09 Apr 2014 09:03:00 +0000 Peter Kenyon 48621 at http://wfae.org After Crimea Takeover, Ukraine Moves To Protect Odessa http://wfae.org/post/after-crimea-takeover-ukraine-moves-protect-odessa With the Crimean peninsula effectively controlled by Russia, Ukrainian officials worry about another Black Sea port, Odessa. Ukraine fears this area with a Russian minority could be a tempting target. Fri, 04 Apr 2014 10:33:00 +0000 Peter Kenyon 48337 at http://wfae.org Still Reeling From Crisis, Ukraine Prepares For Presidential Vote http://wfae.org/post/still-reeling-crisis-ukraine-prepares-presidential-vote After a winter of lightning-fast changes – a president ousted and a peninsula apparently lost to Russia — Ukrainians are beginning to look ahead to elections on May 25 to replace Viktor Yanukovych.<p>The opposition leader who seemed to have the inside track a few weeks ago, ex-world champion heavyweight Vitali Klitschko, has taken himself out of the running. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 21:40:00 +0000 Peter Kenyon 48157 at http://wfae.org Still Reeling From Crisis, Ukraine Prepares For Presidential Vote Ukrainians Open Their Homes To Crimean Refugees http://wfae.org/post/ukrainians-open-their-homes-crimean-refugees Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. Good morning, I'm Steve Inskeep.<p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>And I'm David Greene.<p>Here's yet another sign that Russia is firming up its control of Crimea. The Russian prime minister, Dmitry Medvedev, and much of his cabinet showed up there today. Medvedev announced that Crimea will become a special economic zone with tax breaks to attract investors. Now, Russia says it annexed Crimea at the request of its large ethnic Russian population. But not everyone there is Russian. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 10:18:00 +0000 Peter Kenyon 48024 at http://wfae.org IMF Bailout Comes With A Hefty Side Of Pain For Ukrainians http://wfae.org/post/imf-bailout-comes-hefy-side-pain-ukrainians Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel.<p>The International Monetary Fund is coming up with some cash to keep Ukraine out of bankruptcy. The IMF has agreed on an offer of up to $18 billion in loans. The package still needs final approval. It's intended to give the acting government some breathing room and keep it from defaulting on debts. But Ukrainians themselves will feel the bite of austerity measures that come with the bailout. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 20:12:00 +0000 Peter Kenyon 47827 at http://wfae.org Even Turkey's President Evades Its New Twitter Ban http://wfae.org/post/even-turkeys-president-evades-its-new-twitter-ban Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Robert Siegel.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish.<p>The cyberworld is aflutter about Twitter - more precisely, an effort by Turkey to ban the microblogging site. After a court order, Turkey's telecommunications authority tried to block Twitter access. Prime Minister Recep Tayyip Erdogan has pledged to eradicate Twitter. But the Turkish president, Abdullah Gul, is one of many Turks who are working around the blockage and tweeting away. Joining us from Istanbul is NPR's Peter Kenyon. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 20:24:00 +0000 Peter Kenyon 47436 at http://wfae.org Turkey Lacks Strong Position In Russia-Ukraine Crisis http://wfae.org/post/turkey-lacks-strong-position-russia-ukraine-crisis Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>And as Gregory said a few moments ago, the outcome of the referendum in Crimea is of particular interest to the Tatars, that minority community of Muslims that has a history of being oppressed by Russia. The Tatars have linguistic and religious ties to Turkey, just across the Black Sea. NPR's Peter Kenyon reported from Crimea last week, and has now returned to his base in Istanbul. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 09:13:00 +0000 Peter Kenyon 46924 at http://wfae.org Russia May Expedite Passports For Ukraine's Ethnic Russians http://wfae.org/post/russia-may-expedite-passports-ukraines-ethnic-russians With no end in sight to the Ukraine crisis, Russian lawmakers say they're considering a bill to make it easier for ethnic Russians and other Ukrainians to obtain Russian passports. Thu, 06 Mar 2014 10:31:00 +0000 Peter Kenyon 46360 at http://wfae.org Kremlin Tells Reporters Not To Believe Their Eyes In Crimea http://wfae.org/post/kremlin-tells-reporters-not-believe-their-eyes-crimea Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Melissa Block.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish. Russian President Vladimir Putin says Moscow has not sent troops to Crimea, despite being authorized to do so. Russia's defense minister says reports of Russian forces fanning out across Crimea are complete nonsense. And yet, Ukrainian and Western officials, as well as witnesses and journalists in Crimea tell a very different story. Wed, 05 Mar 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Peter Kenyon 46330 at http://wfae.org