Ari Shapiro http://wfae.org en The Israeli-Palestinian Conflict, Remixed And Retweeted http://wfae.org/post/israeli-palestinian-conflict-remixed-and-retweeted <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cBY-0n4esNY</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YZjxsloZ3HU</p> Sat, 19 Jul 2014 21:15:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 55267 at http://wfae.org The Israeli-Palestinian Conflict, Remixed And Retweeted Israel Intensifies Its Campaign Against Gaza http://wfae.org/post/israel-intensifies-its-campaign-against-gaza Escalating its conflict with Hamas, Israel began shelling the Gaza Strip on Thursday — clearing the way for ground troops. Israel is targeting tunnels Hamas uses to attack its territory. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 09:31:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 55169 at http://wfae.org A Brief Lull Shatters In Gaza, As Cease-Fire Falls Apart http://wfae.org/post/brief-lull-shatters-gaza-cease-fire-falls-apart An attempt at a cease-fire between Israel and Hamas has broken down. Hamas rejected the terms of the cease-fire, and Israel renewed its campaign of air strikes on the Gaza Strip. Tue, 15 Jul 2014 20:58:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 54974 at http://wfae.org Israeli-Gaza Conflict Squeezes Palestinian Leader On All Sides http://wfae.org/post/israeli-gaza-conflict-squeezes-palestinian-leader-all-sides While the Israel-Gaza conflict pits Israelis against Palestinians, it has also increased stress within the Palestinian leadership.<p>The Gaza Strip is run by Hamas, which the U.S. considers a terrorist group and favors a strategy of resistance. Tue, 15 Jul 2014 07:40:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 54918 at http://wfae.org Israeli-Gaza Conflict Squeezes Palestinian Leader On All Sides Between Hamas And Israel, What Might An Endgame Look Like? http://wfae.org/post/between-hamas-and-israel-end-game-remains-unclear The last time Israel and Hamas fought each other was 2012. Back then, the conflict lasted eight days.<p>Tuesday marks the eighth day of the current conflict between Israel and Hamas, which raises the question: What might it take to bring this fight to a close?<p>Both Israel and Hamas say they are unwilling to sign on to a straightforward, put-down-your-weapons, bare-bones ceasefire. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 20:15:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 54901 at http://wfae.org Between Hamas And Israel, What Might An Endgame Look Like? Fighting Between Israel And Gaza Spans 1 Week http://wfae.org/post/fighting-between-israel-and-gaza-spans-1-week Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Steve Inskeep.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>And I'm Renee Montagne. The intense fighting between Israel and Hamas-controlled Gaza has now been going on for a week, and Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu says it may last for a long time to come. The international community is trying to broker a cease-fire, so far without success. NPR's Ari Shapiro joins us on the line from Jerusalem now. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 09:16:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 54853 at http://wfae.org Among Israelis, Pressure Swells To Commence Ground War In Gaza http://wfae.org/post/among-israelis-pressure-swells-commence-ground-war-gaza Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>As we mentioned, no Israelis have been killed by rocket fire, but one strike today did cause severe injuries and damage. Around 8:30 in the morning local time, a rocket struck a gas station in Ashdod. One man was sent to the hospital seriously wounded. NPR's Ari Shapiro reports this increases the internal pressure on Israel to stage a ground invasion.<p>ARI SHAPIRO, BYLINE: A taxi driver Avram Ayash, comes to this gas station every day. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 20:11:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 54739 at http://wfae.org Israel's Rocket Defense System Performs Well During Gaza Escalation http://wfae.org/post/israels-rocket-defense-system-performs-well-during-gaza-escalation Israel's military says its rocket defense system, known as Iron Dome, has kept the country safe from Hamas rockets. The missile shield system may have its critics, but Israelis are still proud. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 09:00:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 54692 at http://wfae.org On Opposite Sides Of Israeli-Gaza Border, Feeling The Same Fears http://wfae.org/post/opposite-sides-israeli-gaza-border-feeling-same-fears More than 50 Palestinians have been killed and 450 wounded in <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/07/09/330059942/israel-strikes-gaza-again-as-violence-and-death-toll-escalate">Israeli airstrikes on the Gaza Strip</a>. Meanwhile, rockets continue to fly toward Israel from Gaza, but so far, no Israelis have been reported killed.<p>For people living in and around the Gaza Strip, this conflict has turned daily routines upside down. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 21:19:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 54567 at http://wfae.org On Opposite Sides Of Israeli-Gaza Border, Feeling The Same Fears Unwelcomed At First, Israelis Mourn Palestinian Teen's Death With His Family http://wfae.org/post/unwelcomed-first-israelis-mourn-palestinian-teens-death-his-family Family members of slain Palestinian teenager Mohammed Abu Khadier said they didn't want an Israeli condolence visit. But the Israelis arrived anyway. The scene went from anger to tears. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 10:21:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 54516 at http://wfae.org