Anya Kamenetz http://wfae.org en Charter Schools, Money And Test Scores http://wfae.org/post/charters-money-and-test-scores The University of Arkansas <a href="http://www.uaedreform.org/">today released</a> what it calls a "first ever" study exploring the relationship between charter school funding and student achievement. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 20:15:00 +0000 Anya Kamenetz 55430 at http://wfae.org Charter Schools, Money And Test Scores The Collapse Of Corinthian Colleges http://wfae.org/post/collapse-corinthian-colleges <em><a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/ed/2014/07/16/331700270/students-react-to-the-closure-of-a-giant-for-profit-college">Read our follow-up version.</a> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 11:03:00 +0000 Anya Kamenetz 54441 at http://wfae.org The Return Of The One-Room Schoolhouse http://wfae.org/post/return-one-room-schoolhouse Even if your grandpa didn't walk uphill to school both ways, or have to break the ice on the bucket before fetching a drink with the dipper, you probably have iconic images in your mind of the one-room schoolhouse. It's a storied piece of America's past dating back to the Colonial era.<p>But in most of America, the idea of students of all ages learning in a single classroom, with a single teacher, has long been as dated as the donkey cart. Wed, 02 Jul 2014 14:03:00 +0000 Anya Kamenetz 54104 at http://wfae.org The Return Of The One-Room Schoolhouse Asking Kids With Special Needs To Clear The Same Bar http://wfae.org/post/asking-kids-special-needs-clear-same-bar Jackson Ellis will soon head to fourth grade. Diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder, he's been receiving publicly funded services since he was 15 months old. Jackson's mother, Rebecca Ellis, a single parent, has made education advocacy her career. She's fighting to make sure her son gets the help he needs at his Mandeville, Louisiana public school. That's always been an uphill battle. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 11:23:00 +0000 Anya Kamenetz 54025 at http://wfae.org Chasing The Elusive 'Quality' In Online Education http://wfae.org/post/chasing-elusive-quality-online-education Jeff Hellmer is an accomplished jazz pianist who has taught music at the University of Texas at Austin for 27 years. He thinks of himself as more than a teacher, though: "What I would like to do with my teaching is be an ambassador for jazz."<p>This past spring, in what's become an increasingly common move, he brought his ambassadorship to a wider audience. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 15:00:00 +0000 Anya Kamenetz 53807 at http://wfae.org Chasing The Elusive 'Quality' In Online Education Mass Collection Of Student Data Raises Privacy Concerns http://wfae.org/post/mass-collection-student-data-raises-privacy-concerns States are centralizing record-keeping and tracking student progress, while online educational software sheds light on how students learn. But many worry about how this information could be misused. Mon, 26 May 2014 21:17:00 +0000 Anya Kamenetz 51716 at http://wfae.org Why Education Is The Most Important Revolution Of Our Time http://wfae.org/post/why-education-most-important-revolution-our-time Learning is something people, like other animals, do whenever our eyes are open. Education, though, is uniquely human, and right now it's at an unusual point of flux.<p>By some accounts, education is a <a href="http://www.edudemic.com/whoa-education-is-a-7-trillion-dollar-industry/">$7 trillion global industry</a> ripe for disruption. Others see it as almost a sacred pursuit — a means of nurturing developing minds while preserving tradition. Around the world, education means equal rights and opportunity. Mon, 19 May 2014 10:03:00 +0000 Anya Kamenetz 51205 at http://wfae.org Why Education Is The Most Important Revolution Of Our Time State Spots In Preschool Declining, Report Finds http://wfae.org/post/state-spots-preschool-declining-report-finds Public preschool enrollment fell slightly last year, according to a <a href="http://nieer.org/publications/state-preschool-2013">report released today</a> by researchers at Rutgers University.<p>About 9,000 fewer children attended public pre-K programs in 2013 than in 2012, the report from the university's <a href="http://nieer.org/publications/state-preschool-2013">National Institute for Early Education Research </a>says. Tue, 13 May 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Anya Kamenetz 50861 at http://wfae.org State Spots In Preschool Declining, Report Finds Poll: Prestigious Colleges Won't Make You Happier In Life Or Work http://wfae.org/post/poll-prestigious-colleges-wont-make-you-happier-life-or-work There's plenty of anxiety in the U.S. over getting into a top college. But a <a href="http://www.gallup.com/strategicconsulting/en-us/education.aspx">new Gallup poll</a> suggests that, later in life, it doesn't matter nearly as much as we think. Tue, 06 May 2014 10:03:00 +0000 Anya Kamenetz 50371 at http://wfae.org Poll: Prestigious Colleges Won't Make You Happier In Life Or Work What Parents Need To Know About Big Data And Student Privacy http://wfae.org/post/what-parents-need-know-about-big-data-and-student-privacy My first brush with professional journalism — and with violations of student privacy — came when I was a sophomore at Yale. It was 1999, and George W. Bush, a Yale alumnus, was running for president.<p>A writer for <em>The New Yorker</em> cold-called my dorm room looking for students who might have access to Bush's records. By sheer coincidence, a friend of mine who worked in the dean's office had, out of curiosity, lifted W's transcript from the files. A Deep Throat-style handoff was arranged, anonymity assured, and the candidate's grades ran in the magazine. Mon, 28 Apr 2014 15:58:00 +0000 Anya Kamenetz 49876 at http://wfae.org What Parents Need To Know About Big Data And Student Privacy