Eric Deggans http://wfae.org en Appreciating James Garner: TV's Best Unhero http://wfae.org/post/appreciating-james-garner-tvs-best-unhero I didn't know, watching Isaac Hayes push James Garner around on <em>The Rockford Files</em>, that I was seeing a special character continue an important television legacy.<p>All I knew, as a devoted fan of Garner's put-upon private eye, was that Jim Rockford seemed like a kind of hero you never saw anywhere else on television.<p>Perpetually strapped for cash and working a case that wasn't likely to change that situation, Rockford was a wrongly imprisoned ex-con who cloaked his heroism in a cynic's quips and world-weary attitude (Hayes was a physically intimidating fellow ex-con who always misp Sun, 20 Jul 2014 20:41:00 +0000 Eric Deggans 55302 at http://wfae.org Appreciating James Garner: TV's Best Unhero Viola Davis Gets Groundbreaking Role As ABC Bets On Diversity http://wfae.org/post/viola-davis-gets-groundbreaking-role-abc-bets-diversity <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JNqqjDv6_dU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dbSl-SPyHtg</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mOutgc-GG6g</p> Wed, 16 Jul 2014 16:51:00 +0000 Eric Deggans 55040 at http://wfae.org Viola Davis Gets Groundbreaking Role As ABC Bets On Diversity Asking Katherine Heigl The 'Difficult' Question At Press Tour http://wfae.org/post/asking-katherine-heigl-difficult-question-press-tour It may be the toughest task of all at a press tour in Los Angeles packed with TV critics from across the nation: How to ask a celebrity a tough question about her bad reputation without looking like a jerk yourself.<p>That moment surfaced for me Sunday, when trying to ask star Katherine Heigl about longstanding rumors in Hollywood that she and her manager/mother have been difficult to work with across many projects.<p>Heigl was appearing during the TV Critics Association's summer press tour in Beverly Hills, facing a roomful of journalists and TV critics, ready to field questions about playing Mon, 14 Jul 2014 16:56:00 +0000 Eric Deggans 54882 at http://wfae.org Asking Katherine Heigl The 'Difficult' Question At Press Tour Snubs And Successes: 6 Lessons Learned From This Year's Emmy Nominations http://wfae.org/post/snubs-and-successes-6-lessons-learned-years-emmy-nominations There are things you could quibble about in the array of nominations announced today for the 66th Primetime Emmy Awards.<p>No best drama series nomination for CBS' <em>The Good Wife</em>, though several stars got acting nods. No acting nomination for <em>Orphan Black</em> star Tatiana Maslany, though she plays about eight different roles on BBC America's clone-focused adventure drama. No best variety show nod for John Oliver's increasingly stellar <em>Last Week Tonight</em> on HBO. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 23:03:00 +0000 Eric Deggans 54681 at http://wfae.org Snubs And Successes: 6 Lessons Learned From This Year's Emmy Nominations Social Media Meltdowns Highlight The Power Of The Audience http://wfae.org/post/social-media-meltdowns-highlight-power-audience At first glance, Adam Richman and Anthony Cumia might not seem to have much in common.<p>True enough, they are media stars who took a hard fall thanks to untoward comments on social media. Richman, a host on the Travel Channel, saw the debut of his new show delayed indefinitely after an online spat led him to suggest one critic commit suicide.<p>Cumia, half of the infamous Opie & Anthony shock jock radio duo, was dumped by SiriusXM after using the c-word on Twitter to describe a black woman he said punched him. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 16:57:00 +0000 Eric Deggans 54547 at http://wfae.org Social Media Meltdowns Highlight The Power Of The Audience Questlove And The Roots: How A Hip-Hop Band Conquered Late Night http://wfae.org/post/questlove-and-roots-how-hip-hop-band-conquered-late-night <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0uBOtQOO70Y</p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 20:09:00 +0000 Eric Deggans 54210 at http://wfae.org Questlove And The Roots: How A Hip-Hop Band Conquered Late Night Diane Sawyer's 'World News' Departure Sets Off Big Changes At ABC News http://wfae.org/post/diane-sawyers-world-news-departure-sets-big-changes-abc-news Diane Sawyer will leave her job as anchor of ABC News' flagship program, <em>World New</em>s, during the last week of August, capping a five-year run at the show and kicking off an anchor shuffle at the network.<p><em>Good Morning America </em>co-anchor George Stephanopoulos, who was widely seen as Sawyer's likely successor, won't go to <em>World News</em>. Wed, 25 Jun 2014 17:18:00 +0000 Eric Deggans 53642 at http://wfae.org Diane Sawyer's 'World News' Departure Sets Off Big Changes At ABC News 'Freedom Summer' And 'The Watsons': Powerful TV About A Civil Rights Journey http://wfae.org/post/freedom-summer-and-watsons-powerful-tv-about-civil-rights-journey <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iz0GpAB0Uf0</p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 20:30:00 +0000 Eric Deggans 53579 at http://wfae.org 'Freedom Summer' And 'The Watsons': Powerful TV About A Civil Rights Journey FX's 'Tyrant' Drowns An Opportunity For Nuance In Stereotypes http://wfae.org/post/fxs-tyrant-drowns-opportunity-nuance-stereotypes <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7jMhJW7-HUs</p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 19:48:00 +0000 Eric Deggans 53571 at http://wfae.org FX's 'Tyrant' Drowns An Opportunity For Nuance In Stereotypes Sputtering On Fumes, 'True Blood' Has Outstayed Its Welcome http://wfae.org/post/sputtering-fumes-true-blood-has-outstayed-its-welcome HBO's <em>True Blood</em>, which returns for its final season Sunday, is a prime example of a TV show that kept going long after it should have ended. It's not alone, though: Other shows have stayed too long at the party, including <em>Dexter</em> and <em>Law & Order: SVU</em>. Why is it that some shows stay on air well after they've run out of creative juice? <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 20:20:00 +0000 Eric Deggans 53353 at http://wfae.org