WFAEats http://wfae.org en The Plaza-Midwood Food Swap: Trading Tastefully http://wfae.org/post/plaza-midwood-food-swap-trading-tastefully <p>Wild violet syrup. Squash blossoms. Tomatoes in colors from garnet to gold. You can’t buy them here, not at any price.</p><p>But you can <em>swap</em> for them at this month’s <a href="https://www.facebook.com/events/1454725508111347/">Plaza-Midwood Food Swap</a> on Saturday, August 30.</p><p> Wed, 27 Aug 2014 17:16:11 +0000 Amy Rogers 57642 at http://wfae.org The Plaza-Midwood Food Swap: Trading Tastefully The Trouble with Eggplant http://wfae.org/post/trouble-eggplant <p>This summer has brought an abundance of eggplants to many backyard gardeners. But therein lies the problem: Not everyone knows what to do with a big basket of <em>solanum melongena.</em></p><p>Never fear. Recipes for everything from <a href="http://www.vegelicacy.com/recipe/191/ajapsandali">Ajapsandali</a> to <a href="http://www.food.com/recipe/romanian-zacusca-276662">Zacusca</a> are easy to find, and many are simple to prepare.</p><p> Wed, 20 Aug 2014 15:06:42 +0000 Amy Rogers 57236 at http://wfae.org The Trouble with Eggplant Get Your Hands Dirty This Saturday: Villa Heights Community Garden http://wfae.org/post/get-your-hands-dirty-saturday-villa-heights-community-garden <p>Eggplants are abounding, but your help is needed to plant fall crops at the <a href="https://www.facebook.com/villaheightscommunitygarden">Villa Heights Community Garden</a> this Saturday, August 16 from 9 to 12.</p><p> Thu, 14 Aug 2014 15:57:49 +0000 Amy Rogers 56888 at http://wfae.org Get Your Hands Dirty This Saturday: Villa Heights Community Garden National Raspberry Tart Day http://wfae.org/post/national-raspberry-tart-day <p>Today is <a href="http://www.thenibble.com/fun/more/facts/holidays-august.asp">National Raspberry Tart Day</a>, which got us thinking: What exactly is the difference between a <em>tart</em>, which sounds kind of fancy, and a plain old <em>pie</em>, which does not?&nbsp;</p> Mon, 11 Aug 2014 16:24:18 +0000 Amy Rogers 56659 at http://wfae.org National Raspberry Tart Day Here’s Your Chance To “Mix it Up” http://wfae.org/post/here-s-your-chance-mix-it <p>Do you envy your friends who serve fun and fabulous cocktails?&nbsp;</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Now you can learn a few </span>mixology<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> tricks of your own. And you can help support good works in our community while you do.</span></p><p></p><p> Tue, 05 Aug 2014 14:25:56 +0000 Amy Rogers 56283 at http://wfae.org Here’s Your Chance To “Mix it Up” Celebrate Watermelon http://wfae.org/post/celebrate-watermelon <p>If you’re a faithful reader of WFAEats – and we really hope you are – by now you’ve learned that nearly every food has its own holiday that celebrates it.</p><p>National Watermelon Day is August 3.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 29 Jul 2014 16:58:34 +0000 Amy Rogers 55843 at http://wfae.org Celebrate Watermelon Finding Flammkuchen In New Orleans http://wfae.org/post/finding-flammkuchen-new-orleans <p>The bar where we’d made our Sunday brunch reservation wouldn’t let us in. This was New Orleans, where people go to <em>laissez les bons temps rouler.</em> But two in our group weren’t quite 21, so we had to find another place to let our good times roll.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 14:30:07 +0000 Amy Rogers 55399 at http://wfae.org Finding Flammkuchen In New Orleans A Covered Dish: Less Can Be More http://wfae.org/post/covered-dish-less-can-be-more <p>Some call them potlucks or potlatches. In the Carolinas, they’re called a covered dish. The idea is the same: every attendee brings a prepared food item to share.</p><p>They’re filling events. You go in knowing you must sample every dish and will probably go back for seconds, or at least dessert. No one’s dish should go unsampled. You leave with a loosened belt buckle and happy memories. Good food, laughter, a celebration of friendship.</p><p> Mon, 14 Jul 2014 15:03:09 +0000 Tamra Wilson 54870 at http://wfae.org A Covered Dish: Less Can Be More World Cup Cocktails http://wfae.org/post/world-cup-cocktails <p>Now that we have finally reached the semi-finals of the World Cup, the finalists will be determined this week, and we should all be prepared to plan our drinking accordingly. The countries that remain vying for soccer supremacy are Brazil, Germany, Argentina, and the Netherlands. All of these countries have their own drinking culture, and here with a few easy-to-make cocktails, we will give you a quick taste of each.</p><p> Mon, 07 Jul 2014 14:14:26 +0000 Kevin Gavagan 54385 at http://wfae.org World Cup Cocktails In Good Taste: A Guide To Enjoying Summer Foods http://wfae.org/post/good-taste-guide-enjoying-summer-foods <p>With summer celebrations in full swing, you may be wondering: What should I do when faced with the challenge of how to elegantly handle inelegant foods in a social setting?</p><p>Have no fear, Etta Kate is here to advise you.</p><p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 14:25:00 +0000 Etta Kate 54033 at http://wfae.org In Good Taste: A Guide To Enjoying Summer Foods