Anastasia Tsioulcas http://wfae.org en We Love Him For More Than Twizzles: Charlie White Plays Violin, Too http://wfae.org/post/we-love-him-more-twizzles-charlie-white-plays-violin-too It's no secret that <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/theedge/2014/02/17/278549740/americans-davis-and-white-win-gold-in-ice-dancing" target="_blank">gold-winning</a> American ice dancers Meryl Davis and Charlie White have become favorite faces in Sochi. Wed, 19 Feb 2014 16:42:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 45365 at http://wfae.org We Love Him For More Than Twizzles: Charlie White Plays Violin, Too Fiddler On The Slopes http://wfae.org/post/fiddler-slopes Classical music has managed to take center stage at sports events in the last few weeks. Soprano Renée Fleming <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/deceptivecadence/2014/01/21/264553311/guess-whos-singing-the-national-anthem-at-the-super-bowl" target="_blank">sang the National Anthem</a> at the Super Bowl two weekends ago. Wed, 12 Feb 2014 13:03:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 44900 at http://wfae.org Fiddler On The Slopes Tracing The Career Of Claudio Abbado, A Consummate Conductor http://wfae.org/post/tracing-career-claudio-abbado-consummate-conductor <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VmozblR_9Pk</p> Tue, 21 Jan 2014 20:02:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 43431 at http://wfae.org Tracing The Career Of Claudio Abbado, A Consummate Conductor Guess Who's Singing The National Anthem At The Super Bowl? http://wfae.org/post/guess-whos-singing-national-anthem-super-bowl She's probably not among your first, or second, or 10th, or 20th-round guesses, but the NFL <a href="http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap2000000316164/article/renee-fleming-to-sing-national-anthem-at-super-bowl-xlviii" target="_blank">just announced</a> that American soprano <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15656760/renee-fleming" target="_blank">Renee Fleming</a> will sing the national anthem at Super Bowl XLVIII on Feb. 2.<p>Fleming is the first-ever opera singer to be given the honor. Tue, 21 Jan 2014 19:46:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 43427 at http://wfae.org Guess Who's Singing The National Anthem At The Super Bowl? Destroyed By Customs? Or Stolen? Whatever Happened, Flutes Are Gone http://wfae.org/post/destroyed-customs-or-stolen-whatever-happened-flutes-are-gone A case stirring intense outrage in the classical music community and starting to gain steam in the mainstream press is getting more mysterious by the day.<p>On New Year's Eve, the popular classical music blog Slipped Disc, written by London-based Norman Lebrecht, <a href="http://www.artsjournal.com/slippeddisc/2013/12/outrage-at-jfk-as-customs-men-smash-flutes.html" target="_blank">published</a> a story with an incendiary headline primed to garner fury from musicians and everyday travelers alike: "Outrage at JFK as Customs men smash a musician's instruments." The details Lebrecht recounted wer Fri, 03 Jan 2014 13:58:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 42291 at http://wfae.org Destroyed By Customs? Or Stolen? Whatever Happened, Flutes Are Gone Remembering A Congolese Rumba King http://wfae.org/post/remembering-congolese-rumba-king <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cdc1TIQcLoQ</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=reModLpEloc</p> Mon, 02 Dec 2013 20:01:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 40304 at http://wfae.org Remembering A Congolese Rumba King Vijay Iyer, Jeremy Denk Win MacArthur Genius Grants http://wfae.org/post/vijay-iyer-jeremy-denk-win-macarthur-genius-grants <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MThqIWwzL78</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MARHeIJDsYI</p> Wed, 25 Sep 2013 16:02:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 36026 at http://wfae.org Vijay Iyer, Jeremy Denk Win MacArthur Genius Grants Slimmed-Down Gramophone Awards Honor Home Team http://wfae.org/post/slimmed-down-gramophone-awards-honor-home-team The British classical magazine <em>Gramophone</em> announced today the latest round of winners of its annual awards, now in their 90th year. Tue, 27 Aug 2013 13:03:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 34117 at http://wfae.org Slimmed-Down Gramophone Awards Honor Home Team Reunited After 50 Years, An Algerian Buena Vista Social Club Makes Its U.S. Debut http://wfae.org/post/reunited-after-50-years-algerian-buena-vista-social-club-makes-its-us-debut <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-RVN1ZvHZCk</p> Thu, 08 Aug 2013 06:03:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 32895 at http://wfae.org Reunited After 50 Years, An Algerian Buena Vista Social Club Makes Its U.S. Debut