Anastasia Tsioulcas http://wfae.org en After 36 Years, A Trumpeter Sounds His Last Note In New York http://wfae.org/post/after-36-years-trumpeter-sounds-his-last-note-new-york <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cWZoejVZnzc</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qGLw9wC1bEE</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aVRSI6-MMiQ</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bVcnjIr2Ugo</p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 15:53:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 54186 at http://wfae.org After 36 Years, A Trumpeter Sounds His Last Note In New York What's Worth $45 Million — Or More? One Viola http://wfae.org/post/whats-worth-45-million-or-more-one-viola <em>Update Wednesday, June 25, 2014: A representative from Sotheby's tells NPR that the instrument did not sell "at this time." </em><p>Wednesday, Sotheby's auction house plans to announce the sale of a rare viola made by Antonio Stradivari. The <em>minimum</em> bid is $45 million. If it sells, it will be the most expensive instrument of any kind in history.<p>Here's an old musician joke: How do you keep your violin from getting stolen? Put it in a viola case.<p>The viola has long played second fiddle to its far more popular, higher-pitched sibling, the violin. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 17:03:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 53564 at http://wfae.org What's Worth $45 Million — Or More? One Viola Making Joyful Noise At Make Music New York 2014 http://wfae.org/post/making-joyful-noise-make-music-new-york-2014 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6nPzc3fAiWs</p> Sun, 22 Jun 2014 18:11:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 53435 at http://wfae.org Making Joyful Noise At Make Music New York 2014 Rafael Fruhbeck De Burgos, Versatile Spanish Conductor, Dies At 80 http://wfae.org/post/rafael-fr-hbeck-de-burgos-versatile-spanish-conductor-dies-80 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XMALVK_I8hE</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wlZ3FmBzbo4</p> Wed, 11 Jun 2014 16:14:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 52701 at http://wfae.org Rafael Fruhbeck De Burgos, Versatile Spanish Conductor, Dies At 80 Midspring Surprise: Lost Mendelssohn Song Found http://wfae.org/post/midspring-surprise-lost-mendelssohn-song-found <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f-tb_m8SD04</p> Tue, 06 May 2014 14:59:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 50389 at http://wfae.org Midspring Surprise: Lost Mendelssohn Song Found We Love Him For More Than Twizzles: Charlie White Plays Violin, Too http://wfae.org/post/we-love-him-more-twizzles-charlie-white-plays-violin-too It's no secret that <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/theedge/2014/02/17/278549740/americans-davis-and-white-win-gold-in-ice-dancing" target="_blank">gold-winning</a> American ice dancers Meryl Davis and Charlie White have become favorite faces in Sochi. Wed, 19 Feb 2014 16:42:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 45365 at http://wfae.org We Love Him For More Than Twizzles: Charlie White Plays Violin, Too Fiddler On The Slopes http://wfae.org/post/fiddler-slopes Classical music has managed to take center stage at sports events in the last few weeks. Soprano Renée Fleming <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/deceptivecadence/2014/01/21/264553311/guess-whos-singing-the-national-anthem-at-the-super-bowl" target="_blank">sang the National Anthem</a> at the Super Bowl two weekends ago. Wed, 12 Feb 2014 13:03:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 44900 at http://wfae.org Fiddler On The Slopes Tracing The Career Of Claudio Abbado, A Consummate Conductor http://wfae.org/post/tracing-career-claudio-abbado-consummate-conductor <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VmozblR_9Pk</p> Tue, 21 Jan 2014 20:02:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 43431 at http://wfae.org Tracing The Career Of Claudio Abbado, A Consummate Conductor Guess Who's Singing The National Anthem At The Super Bowl? http://wfae.org/post/guess-whos-singing-national-anthem-super-bowl She's probably not among your first, or second, or 10th, or 20th-round guesses, but the NFL <a href="http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap2000000316164/article/renee-fleming-to-sing-national-anthem-at-super-bowl-xlviii" target="_blank">just announced</a> that American soprano <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15656760/renee-fleming" target="_blank">Renee Fleming</a> will sing the national anthem at Super Bowl XLVIII on Feb. 2.<p>Fleming is the first-ever opera singer to be given the honor. Tue, 21 Jan 2014 19:46:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 43427 at http://wfae.org Guess Who's Singing The National Anthem At The Super Bowl? Destroyed By Customs? Or Stolen? Whatever Happened, Flutes Are Gone http://wfae.org/post/destroyed-customs-or-stolen-whatever-happened-flutes-are-gone A case stirring intense outrage in the classical music community and starting to gain steam in the mainstream press is getting more mysterious by the day.<p>On New Year's Eve, the popular classical music blog Slipped Disc, written by London-based Norman Lebrecht, <a href="http://www.artsjournal.com/slippeddisc/2013/12/outrage-at-jfk-as-customs-men-smash-flutes.html" target="_blank">published</a> a story with an incendiary headline primed to garner fury from musicians and everyday travelers alike: "Outrage at JFK as Customs men smash a musician's instruments." The details Lebrecht recounted wer Fri, 03 Jan 2014 13:58:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 42291 at http://wfae.org Destroyed By Customs? Or Stolen? Whatever Happened, Flutes Are Gone