Tasnim Shamma http://wfae.org en Man Shot By Stray Bullet On July 4 Is In Fair Condition http://wfae.org/post/man-shot-stray-bullet-july-4-fair-condition <p>The family of Brandon Yam, the man who was shot in the head by a stray bullet on the Fourth of July, says he may be released from the hospital this week.</p><p>Family members are asking for any information that will help them identify the kind of bullet that struck him.</p><p></p><p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 21:29:35 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 54495 at http://wfae.org Man Shot By Stray Bullet On July 4 Is In Fair Condition Salisbury City Manager Booted After Closed Session http://wfae.org/post/salisbury-city-manager-booted-after-closed-session <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The city of Salisbury now has an interim city manager. That's because two weeks ago, city council members effectively fired former city manager Doug Paris.</span></p><p>The city's communications director resigned the next day.</p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 21:42:23 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 54068 at http://wfae.org Salisbury City Manager Booted After Closed Session Hip-Hop Church Targets Young Crowd With Gospel Beats http://wfae.org/post/hip-hop-church-targets-young-crowd-gospel-beats <p>It's fair to say that – at least in Charlotte – it's not news when a church opens.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">But a new church in&nbsp;</span>Huntersville<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;is doing something different to get young people in the door. It's using hip-hop to deliver its message.</span></p><p></p><p></p><p> Fri, 27 Jun 2014 13:24:56 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 53771 at http://wfae.org Hip-Hop Church Targets Young Crowd With Gospel Beats Study Shows I-77 Toll Lane Trip Could Top Out At $11 http://wfae.org/post/study-shows-i-77-toll-lane-trip-could-top-out-11 <p>A 2012 study indicates a trip&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">between uptown Charlotte and Mooresville on an express toll lane could cost between $9 to $11 during rush hour. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 20:07:55 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 53492 at http://wfae.org Study Shows I-77 Toll Lane Trip Could Top Out At $11 Carolina Actors Studio Theatre Will Close This Month http://wfae.org/post/carolina-actors-studio-theatre-will-close-month <p>After more than two decades in Charlotte, the Carolina Actors Studio Theatre is shutting down because of declining ticket sales and continuing financial challenges.</p><p></p><p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 21:02:09 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 53278 at http://wfae.org Carolina Actors Studio Theatre Will Close This Month Juneteenth Festival Focuses On Celebration, Education http://wfae.org/post/juneteenth-festival-focuses-celebration-education <p>Thousands gathered at Independence Park in Charlotte this weekend to celebrate Juneteenth. That's short for June 19th. The date back in 1865, it's believed, that the last remaining black slaves learned that they were free.<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p> Mon, 16 Jun 2014 13:13:16 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 52985 at http://wfae.org Juneteenth Festival Focuses On Celebration, Education CATS Offers Two New Express Bus Routes To Charlotte Airport http://wfae.org/post/cats-offers-two-new-express-bus-routes-charlotte-airport <p>There's a lot of construction going on at Charlotte Douglas International Airport. There are also fewer parking spaces. So <a href="http://wfae.org/post/summer-brings-fewer-parking-spaces-clt-airport" target="_blank">finding parking</a> is not easy. &nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p>But to make it a little easier, airport and transit officials will begin offering two new express bus routes to the airport starting Monday.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p> Fri, 13 Jun 2014 00:59:54 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 52814 at http://wfae.org CATS Offers Two New Express Bus Routes To Charlotte Airport Spike ... And Splash: Professionals Get Muddy For Habitat Charlotte http://wfae.org/post/spike-and-splash-professionals-get-muddy-habitat-charlotte <p>More than 500 people gathered in south Charlotte on Sunday to get dirty playing m<span style="line-height: 1.5;">ud volleyball. It’s an annual fundraiser hosted by Habitat Young Professionals for Habitat for Humanity in Charlotte.</span></p><p> Mon, 09 Jun 2014 16:12:21 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 52546 at http://wfae.org Spike ... And Splash: Professionals Get Muddy For Habitat Charlotte WFAE Talks Patrick Cannon And His Guilty Plea http://wfae.org/post/wfae-talks-patrick-cannon-and-his-guilty-plea <p>This week’s podcast focuses on Patrick Cannon’s guilty plea and the observations of reporters Ben Bradford and Tasnim Shamma in covering the event. Plus, our new “MeghaMeter” segment scrutinizes a press release from Kay Hagan’s U.S. Senate campaign.</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 13:04:55 +0000 Greg Collard, Tasnim Shamma & Ben Bradford 52398 at http://wfae.org WFAE Talks Patrick Cannon And His Guilty Plea Eastway Division Model For Future Police Stations http://wfae.org/post/eastway-division-model-future-police-stations <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The city of Charlotte wants its police stations to be more of a one-stop shop. In east Charlotte, city officials celebrated the grand opening of a new police station Wednesday morning. It houses more than 100 police officers and 15 members of the city's code enforcement team. Neighborhood &amp; Business Services director Patrick Mumford says he and </span>CMPD<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;Chief Rodney Monroe first discussed the idea of moving some of his staff into police stations about three years ago.</span></p> Wed, 04 Jun 2014 19:57:55 +0000 Tasnim Shamma 52285 at http://wfae.org Eastway Division Model For Future Police Stations