Felix Contreras http://wfae.org en Ethereal Jazz Singer Jimmy Scott Dies http://wfae.org/post/ethereal-jazz-singer-jimmy-scott-dies Singer <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15395174/little-jimmy-scott" target="_blank">Jimmy Scott</a> died of natural causes Thursday morning at his home in Las Vegas at age 88, according to his booking agent, Jean-Pierre Leduc. <p>Scott suffered from Kallmann's syndrome, a lifelong affliction that prevented his body from maturing through puberty. The condition slowed his growth, leaving his stature at 4 feet 11 inches until his late 30s. Fri, 13 Jun 2014 21:30:00 +0000 Felix Contreras 52903 at http://wfae.org Ethereal Jazz Singer Jimmy Scott Dies The Grateful Dead's Ultimate 'Dark Star' To Be Reissued http://wfae.org/post/grateful-deads-ultimate-dark-star-be-reissued <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oMGUQTK8tXw</p> Tue, 06 May 2014 19:20:00 +0000 Felix Contreras 50405 at http://wfae.org The Grateful Dead's Ultimate 'Dark Star' To Be Reissued Paco De Lucia, Modern Superstar Of Flamenco, Dies http://wfae.org/post/paco-de-lucia-modern-superstar-flamenco-dies <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2oyhlad64-s</p> Wed, 26 Feb 2014 22:28:00 +0000 Felix Contreras 45881 at http://wfae.org Paco De Lucia, Modern Superstar Of Flamenco, Dies Marian McPartland, 'Piano Jazz' Host, Has Died http://wfae.org/post/marian-mcpartland-piano-jazz-host-has-died <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15123605/marian-mcpartland">Marian McPartland</a>, who gave the world an intimate, insider's perspective on one of the most elusive topics in music — jazz improvisation — died of natural causes Tuesday night at her home in Long Island, N.Y. She was 95.<p>For more than 40 years, she hosted <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/piano-jazz/">Marian McPartland's Piano Jazz</a>, an NPR program pairing conversation and duet performances that reached an audience of millions, connecting with jazz fans and the curious alike. Wed, 21 Aug 2013 11:04:00 +0000 Felix Contreras 33731 at http://wfae.org Marian McPartland, 'Piano Jazz' Host, Has Died 'A Walking Encyclopedia Of Rhythms': Remembering Steve Berrios http://wfae.org/post/walking-encyclopedia-rhythms-remembering-steve-berrios It is not easy to play both jazz drum set and Afro-Caribbean percussion. Lots of drummers do it, but few have mastered it in a way that makes their sound in either style unmistakable from the first beat.<p>The music community lost one of those true innovators Wednesday with the death of percussionist Steve Berrios in New York at age 68. Berrios could move seamlessly from jazz to Afro-Cuban rhythms in a way that perfectly reflected his bicultural roots.<p>Berrios was a true Nuevoriqueño, born in New York in 1945 to parents who had recently arrived from Puerto Rico. Mon, 29 Jul 2013 21:30:00 +0000 Felix Contreras 32298 at http://wfae.org 'A Walking Encyclopedia Of Rhythms': Remembering Steve Berrios Cooking Tamales For The Beatles: Guest DJ Sandra Cisneros http://wfae.org/post/cooking-tamales-beatles-guest-dj-sandra-cisneros <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sE73giFnLBs</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6FOUqQt3Kg0</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sd5nQW8M3nU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fQ7uXX9K7Sk</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I_ApaYLUmTs</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CXZRaTrOmgg</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i8YzhTggIow</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IUHlDNmkads</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xXzeEfH6PTk</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VTPec8z5vdY</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aXbbWM1bKlE</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sBxHfVvsNbs</p> Thu, 10 Jan 2013 17:02:00 +0000 Felix Contreras 19194 at http://wfae.org Cooking Tamales For The Beatles: Guest DJ Sandra Cisneros Jesse & Joy, Juanes Win Big At Latin Grammys http://wfae.org/post/jesse-joy-juanes-win-big-latin-grammys <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P2hM9CLAMu4</p> Fri, 16 Nov 2012 19:52:00 +0000 Felix Contreras 15993 at http://wfae.org Jesse & Joy, Juanes Win Big At Latin Grammys