Julie Rose http://wfae.org en On The Web, Exploring The Family Tree Is Easy — But Unreliable http://wfae.org/post/web-exploring-family-tree-easy-unreliable Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>Thanks to the Internet, tracking your family tree is easier than ever. But don't be too quick to trust what the Web says about your ancestors.<p>Reporter Julie Rose says as collaborative genealogy sites gain popularity, that's something to keep in mind.<p>JULIE ROSE, BYLINE: Several weeks ago, my mom came bounding out of her study yelling come on in here, I've been telling everybody. Mon, 17 Feb 2014 21:43:00 +0000 Julie Rose 45254 at http://wfae.org TSA Shifts Exit Lane Security To Airport http://wfae.org/post/tsa-shifts-exit-lane-security-airport <p>The Transportation Security Administration says it will no longer staff passenger exits at Charlotte Douglas International Airport come January.&nbsp;</p><p>To plug the security gap, interim aviation director Brent Cagle says Charlotte will spend close to half a million dollars paying contract workers from the private firm G4S to man the exits for nine months.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">During that time, Charlotte officials will explore permanent options – including the possibility of technology to secure the exits.&nbsp; </span></p> Mon, 11 Nov 2013 04:55:15 +0000 Julie Rose 38894 at http://wfae.org TSA Shifts Exit Lane Security To Airport US Airways Says 'Yes' To iPads, Phones, E-Readers Inflight http://wfae.org/post/us-airways-says-yes-ipads-phones-e-readers-inflight <p>Go ahead and keep that tablet or e-reader <em>on</em> during your next US Airways flight.</p><p>Beginning today, the airline that operates more than 90 percent of flights out of Charlotte Douglas International will allow use of portable electronic devices from start to finish on flights.&nbsp; Cell phone calls will not be allowed in flight, but customers will no longer be chided by flight attendants to turn off and stow small devices.&nbsp; Anything weighing over two pounds will still need to go overhead or under the seat during takeoff and landing.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 07 Nov 2013 18:17:44 +0000 Julie Rose 38778 at http://wfae.org US Airways Says 'Yes' To iPads, Phones, E-Readers Inflight Duke 'On Track,' Posts $1Billion 3Q Profit http://wfae.org/post/duke-track-posts-1billion-3q-profit <p>Duke Energy made <a href="http://www.duke-energy.com/pdfs/2013110601f.pdf" target="_blank">a billion-dollar profit</a> in the third quarter – twice what it reported for the same quarter a year ago, when the company was newly-merged and swallowing significant costs related to that. Duke executives say the quarter would have been even stronger, had it not been for mild summer weather in the region that meant fewer air conditioners sucking up electricity. &nbsp;</p> Wed, 06 Nov 2013 18:17:37 +0000 Julie Rose 38722 at http://wfae.org Duke 'On Track,' Posts $1Billion 3Q Profit South Carolina's Growing Importance To Boeing http://wfae.org/post/south-carolinas-growing-importance-boeing <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Boeing is </span><a href="http://www.reuters.com/article/2013/11/05/us-boeing-assembly-idUSBRE9A311P20131105" style="line-height: 1.5;" target="_blank">reported</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> to be in the final stages of negotiating with the machinists union to build its new passenger plane in the Seattle area, rather than North Charleston as some had speculated. Nevertheless, South Carolina's importance to Boeing's business is growing.</span></p><p></p><p> Wed, 06 Nov 2013 13:14:44 +0000 Julie Rose 38669 at http://wfae.org South Carolina's Growing Importance To Boeing Democrats Keep Firm Grip On Charlotte http://wfae.org/post/democrats-keep-firm-grip-charlotte <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Democrats maintained their 9 to 2 majority on the Charlotte City Council last night and easily kept hold of the mayor's seat, with Patrick Cannon winning by five percentage points. &nbsp;</span></p> Wed, 06 Nov 2013 03:54:10 +0000 Julie Rose 38677 at http://wfae.org Democrats Keep Firm Grip On Charlotte Nuclear Waste Meeting In Charlotte http://wfae.org/post/nuclear-waste-meeting-charlotte <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Nearly <a href="http://www.nei.org/Knowledge-Center/Nuclear-Statistics/US-Nuclear-Power-Plants/State-Electricity-Generation-Fuel-Shares" target="_blank">half of our electricity in the Carolinas</a> comes from nuclear plants, which produce enough radioactive waste to rank North and South Carolina among the top five states with the most spent fuel. On Monday night, the Nuclear Regulatory Commission will <a href="http://pbadupws.nrc.gov/docs/ML1327/ML13279A004.pdf" target="_blank">hold a public meeting in Charlotte </a>to take comments on its latest plan for handling that waste.</span></p><p></p><p> Mon, 04 Nov 2013 22:01:45 +0000 Julie Rose 38584 at http://wfae.org Nuclear Waste Meeting In Charlotte Court Punts Charlotte Airport Decision Back To Feds http://wfae.org/post/court-punts-charlotte-airport-decision-back-feds <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>Still more <em>punting</em> going on in the fight for control of Charlotte Douglas International Airport: A Superior Court judge today refused to weigh-in on questions posed by federal regulators about the nature of the commission lawmakers created to run the airport.&nbsp;</p><p></p> Fri, 01 Nov 2013 20:51:32 +0000 Julie Rose 38448 at http://wfae.org Court Punts Charlotte Airport Decision Back To Feds Judge To Hear More Airport Arguments Friday http://wfae.org/post/judge-hear-more-airport-arguments-friday <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">"The nature of the beast" is the question for Judge Robert Ervin, who will hear arguments about Charlotte Douglas International Airport Friday in a Mecklenburg County courtroom.</span></p><p></p><p> Fri, 01 Nov 2013 00:56:06 +0000 Julie Rose 38352 at http://wfae.org Cabarrus County Bows Out Of 'Incentives Game' http://wfae.org/post/cabarrus-county-bows-out-incentives-game <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Elected officials across the country will tell you they dislike the practice of handing out economic incentives to lure businesses to their communities. But they hold their noses and do it anyway, because "that's the way things work."</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Well, officials in </span>Cabarrus<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> County have made the risky decision of saying "No more."</span></p><p></p><p> Fri, 01 Nov 2013 00:55:13 +0000 Julie Rose 38353 at http://wfae.org Cabarrus County Bows Out Of 'Incentives Game'