Frank James http://wfae.org en Should President Obama Visit The Texas Border? http://wfae.org/post/should-president-obama-visit-texas-border Much of President Obama's presidency currently falls into the category of damned if he does, damned if he doesn't.<p>That certainly is true on the question of whether he should visit the U.S.-Mexico border during his two-day visit to Texas.<p>Some have even taken <a href="http://onpolitics.usatoday.com/2014/07/07/cuellar-obama-immigration-border-katrina/">to asking</a> if this isn't Obama's "Katrina moment," an allusion to President George W. Bush's 2005 failure to immediately visit the hurricane-ravaged Gulf Coast once the storm had passed. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 21:59:00 +0000 Frank James 54577 at http://wfae.org Should President Obama Visit The Texas Border? A Senator Turns His Bible Into A Political Tool http://wfae.org/post/senator-turns-his-bible-political-tool <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dpGPymn9fsI</p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 22:28:00 +0000 Frank James 54501 at http://wfae.org A Senator Turns His Bible Into A Political Tool Red State Democrats Tread Lightly On Hobby Lobby Ruling http://wfae.org/post/red-state-democrats-tread-lightly-hobby-lobby-ruling For the typical Democrat running in 2014, frequent condemnation of the Supreme Court's recent <em>Hobby Lobby</em> decision is a no-brainer as a rallying cry to raise money and energize voters — especially women.<p>Monday's ruling allows family-owned and other closely held companies <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/06/30/326926331/companies-can-refuse-to-cover-contraception-supreme-court-says">to opt out of the federal health law's contraception mandate</a> if they have religious objections.<p>But some Democrats have to be more constrained than others in their objection to the Thu, 03 Jul 2014 20:48:00 +0000 Frank James 54221 at http://wfae.org Red State Democrats Tread Lightly On Hobby Lobby Ruling Another Day, Another Reason For Voters To Loathe Congress http://wfae.org/post/another-day-another-reason-voters-loathe-congress Congressional approval ratings are at rock bottom. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 23:02:00 +0000 Frank James 54073 at http://wfae.org Another Day, Another Reason For Voters To Loathe Congress Obama's No-Win Immigration Predicament http://wfae.org/post/obamas-no-win-immigration-predicament President Obama's tough predicament on immigration is only getting worse.<p>He certainly didn't want to be dealing with an influx of unaccompanied minors illegally entering the U.S. across the Southern border, overwhelming the Homeland Security Department's ability to deal with them during a critical midterm election year.<p>Obama also presumably didn't want an immigration bill passed by the Senate a year ago to sit, forsaken, in the House. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 23:07:00 +0000 Frank James 54001 at http://wfae.org Obama's No-Win Immigration Predicament New House Leadership Puts Export Bank On Shakier Ground http://wfae.org/post/new-house-leadership-puts-export-bank-shakier-ground The Export-Import Bank, created by President Franklin Roosevelt in 1934 to boost U.S. exports during the Great Depression, needs its charter to be reauthorized by September's end if it is to continue providing loans to U.S. Wed, 25 Jun 2014 00:35:00 +0000 Frank James 53599 at http://wfae.org New House Leadership Puts Export Bank On Shakier Ground Will Mississippi's Black Democrats Save A Republican? http://wfae.org/post/will-mississippis-black-democrats-save-republican It's a rich irony that on the 50th anniversary of the Freedom Riders risking life and limb in Mississippi to help African-Americans register to vote, black Democrats may decide which Republican wins Tuesday's runoff for the GOP Senate nomination.<p>Then again, maybe they won't. A big unknown on the morning of the election is just how many African-American Democrats might actually visit polling places across party lines to vote for Sen. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 12:30:00 +0000 Frank James 53547 at http://wfae.org Will Mississippi's Black Democrats Save A Republican? Hillary Clinton, The Inevitable? Sure Seems Like It http://wfae.org/post/hillary-clinton-inevitable-sure-seems-it The jockeying for the 2016 Democratic presidential nomination is already shaping up to be nothing like the 2008 contest. Indeed, it doesn't even resemble a contest. Sun, 22 Jun 2014 08:57:00 +0000 Frank James 53416 at http://wfae.org Hillary Clinton, The Inevitable? Sure Seems Like It House Republicans' Top Leadership Gets A Red-State Member http://wfae.org/post/house-republicans-top-leadership-gets-red-state-member House Republicans, whose voter strength can be disproportionately found in the red states of the South and Mountain West, have once again elected a majority leader from a state that voted twice for President Obama. But the race for majority whip was won by a red-state representative who made the case for regional diversity in Republican leadership.<p>Hailing from California, Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy replaces Virginia Rep. Thu, 19 Jun 2014 21:54:00 +0000 Frank James 53291 at http://wfae.org House Republicans' Top Leadership Gets A Red-State Member Iraq's Meltdown Troubles U.S. Political Waters http://wfae.org/post/iraqs-meltdown-troubles-us-political-waters Iraq has a long history of roiling American politics. Wed, 18 Jun 2014 23:18:00 +0000 Frank James 53210 at http://wfae.org Iraq's Meltdown Troubles U.S. Political Waters