In North Carolina, you can legally drop out of high school at the age of 16 – except in two school districts in Catawba County – Newton-Conover City Schools and Hickory Public Schools. Both were given permission to raise the dropout age to 18 three years ago as part of a pilot program. These districts have seen some success, but they don’t owe it all to raising the dropout age.
- Red Palm Weevils Wreak Havoc On Palm Plantations Across The Globe
- Heavy Rains And Flooding As Tropical Storm Cindy Makes Landfall
- Republicans' Proposed Medicaid Cuts Would Hit Rural Patients Hard
- Rural South Korean County Prepares For Role As 2018 Winter Olympics Host
- How Facebook Uses Technology To Block Terrorist-Related Content
Paul Megget will become Charlotte School of Law's third dean in as many months. Meanwhile, the Mecklenburg County Commission has approved two budget plans, one a $1.7 billion operating budget for FY2018, the other a $1.5 billion long-term capital improvement plan. And, the proposed North Carolina state budget continues to move quickly through the General Assembly.